Scanning shallow water

Share videos from your recent projects here.
sirodders209
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Full Name: Rodney Knight
Company Details: Aquaknight Industries Ltd
Company Position Title: Aquaknight Industries Ltd

Scanning shallow water

Post by sirodders209 » Tue Apr 24, 2018 11:28 am

Hi everybody, I have just joined this forum, so new to all this! I have a need to scan small bodies of water (2m x 2m x 25mm deep maximum size). To complicate matters it will be raining (think inside a shower). This will be done in a controlled environment at our facility.

I have no experience with scanning, so zero knowledge (easy on the acronyms please :D ).
Looking for the correct hardware and advice as to wether the gathered data can be imported into SolidWorks.

Thank you in advance.

tbwester
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Full Name: Thad Wester
Company Details: WeWork
Company Position Title: Head of Reality Capture
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Scanning shallow water

Post by tbwester » Tue Apr 24, 2018 2:45 pm

Leica C10 will get some points through water. Not exactly sure what your trying to measure under the water?

sirodders209
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Full Name: Rodney Knight
Company Details: Aquaknight Industries Ltd
Company Position Title: Aquaknight Industries Ltd

Post by sirodders209 » Thu Apr 26, 2018 6:08 am

tbwester wrote:
Tue Apr 24, 2018 2:45 pm
Leica C10 will get some points through water. Not exactly sure what your trying to measure under the water?
Thank you for your comment & allow me to clarify: we are in the shower & shower drain business. I want to scan a shower tray, then turn on the water & measure the water gathering at the drain point to establish ponding at various flow rates. (It may sound frivolous but this needs doing.)

If penetrating the water is a problem, would a simple comparison between the two scans give me what I want? If so, would the worst water-penetrating system be the best solution?