BETA of HTML 5 interface

Discuss all FARO related issues here.
User avatar
Nicole Tung
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 10:28 pm
Full Name: Nicole Tung
Company Details: ESR Ltd
Company Position Title: Forensic Scientist
Country: New Zealand
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: BETA of HTML 5 interface

Post by Nicole Tung » Fri Dec 12, 2014 3:48 am

Just updated the firmware for our Faro 120 and set up our iPhone 6 phones so we can access our scanner remotely. We’re very excited about this and can’t wait to use this functionality at our crime scenes! It’s going to be useful to look at our iPhone and see the remaining scan time left if we’re standing ‘out of sight’ or working on something else in the scene.
IMG_3141a.png
Great work Faro!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
David Zip
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 6:51 am
Full Name: David Zip
Company Details: 3D MobileScan
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: Canada
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Contact:

Re: BETA of HTML 5 interface

Post by David Zip » Mon Jan 05, 2015 8:48 pm

Must be out of Beta, my firmware was updated by Faro as part of calibration to v5.3.1.39519
In my iPhone 6 Safari browser, I needed to use the address
http://192.168.111.2:8400/ui/
to avoid a prompt to install flash. (Probably some outdated file association.) Thanks Eugene, for pointing out that the firmware is now written in HTML5 and available to all smartphones. The rewrite has made the screen refreshes/ response zippier as well.
Great to have this remote touchscreen on my iPhone! Adding the above Safari scanner wifi address to the home screen as a button nearly turns this into an app.

User avatar
3DForensics
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1884
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 1:52 am
Full Name: Eugene Liscio
Company Details: AI2-3D Forensics
Company Position Title: Owner
Skype Name: eliscio
Location: Toronto, Canada
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: BETA of HTML 5 interface

Post by 3DForensics » Tue Jan 06, 2015 2:36 am

David Zip wrote:I needed to use the address
http://192.168.111.2:8400/ui/
Yes, that is the new address required for the HTML5 interface.

Eugene

wgrimes
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2013 5:54 pm
Full Name: Wesley Grimes
Company Details: Collision Engineering Associates Inc.
Company Position Title: President - engineer
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No
Location: Mesa, Arizona

Re: BETA of HTML 5 interface

Post by wgrimes » Tue Jun 30, 2015 6:34 pm

Was the firmware ever updated so that you can see the inclinometer??

Without the ability to confirm the scanner is level remote access is pretty useless for us.

W

adriantaylor09
I have made 60-70 posts
I have made 60-70 posts
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 8:57 pm
Full Name: Adrian Taylor
Company Details: Revisia Ltd
Company Position Title: Industrial 3D Specialist
Country: New Zealand
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: BETA of HTML 5 interface

Post by adriantaylor09 » Tue Jun 30, 2015 11:43 pm

Can't believe I only just found this!! Looking forward to trying it out.

Can anyone tell me, is there some kind of change log for firmware updates? I'd love to have a look at what else they're tweaking each time I update!

User avatar
ddustin
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 931
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 9:28 pm
Full Name: David Dustin
Company Details: FARO Technologies Inc
Company Position Title: Global Dir of PS Product Management
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Georgia, USA.. Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: BETA of HTML 5 interface

Post by ddustin » Tue Jun 30, 2015 11:49 pm

You'll want the latest Firmware, and then all you need is a browser and the correct link.
David
Global Director of Public Safety - Product Management

wgrimes
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2013 5:54 pm
Full Name: Wesley Grimes
Company Details: Collision Engineering Associates Inc.
Company Position Title: President - engineer
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No
Location: Mesa, Arizona

Re: BETA of HTML 5 interface

Post by wgrimes » Wed Jul 01, 2015 12:16 am

Can anyone get their units or IOS devices to see the inclinometer?? I can' not.

W

adriantaylor09
I have made 60-70 posts
I have made 60-70 posts
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 8:57 pm
Full Name: Adrian Taylor
Company Details: Revisia Ltd
Company Position Title: Industrial 3D Specialist
Country: New Zealand
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: BETA of HTML 5 interface

Post by adriantaylor09 » Wed Jul 01, 2015 12:43 am

wgrimes wrote:Can anyone get their units or IOS devices to see the inclinometer?? I can' not.

W
I can't either.

I'm curious, why would you want to do that remotely?

wgrimes
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2013 5:54 pm
Full Name: Wesley Grimes
Company Details: Collision Engineering Associates Inc.
Company Position Title: President - engineer
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No
Location: Mesa, Arizona

Re: BETA of HTML 5 interface

Post by wgrimes » Wed Jul 01, 2015 3:22 am

I scan vehicle crash scenes. I'm scanning next to the roadway, so I want the scanner as high as I can reasonably get it...to increase the angle of incidence for the laser and get better surface resolution. I put the scanner up at about 9-1/2 feet (3 meters??). I'm tall, but not that tall......for best results I have to make sure the scanner is level (or at least pretty close). I need to access the inclinometers after raising the scanner up to that height.

Now I'm curious.....why wouldn't you need to check for the scanner being level?? Why do you need to control it remotely without knowing whether it is level??

W

adriantaylor09
I have made 60-70 posts
I have made 60-70 posts
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 8:57 pm
Full Name: Adrian Taylor
Company Details: Revisia Ltd
Company Position Title: Industrial 3D Specialist
Country: New Zealand
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: BETA of HTML 5 interface

Post by adriantaylor09 » Wed Jul 01, 2015 5:41 am

That makes sense, I guess you have the ability to adjust the scanner level from the ground while the scanner is in the air. We don't have a telescoping tripod (yet) so there's no need to check the level remotely then adjust etc... we just adjust the level while looking at the spirit bubble.
wgrimes wrote:
Now I'm curious.....why wouldn't you need to check for the scanner being level?? Why do you need to control it remotely without knowing whether it is level??

W
Controlling the scanner remotely is useful for me for several reasons. Usually it involves putting the scanner on a custom mount and then sticking it in a hole or some other hard to get to place- where we have no ability to adjust the level anyway. We also often scan from walkways or platforms that can vibrate the scanner if you're walking on them. So we set the tripod up, level it, get off the platform and start the scan remotely.

Post Reply

Return to “FARO”