Faro Scene 5.3 into Recap

Discuss all Faro related issues here.
Andybassett
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 4:45 pm
Full Name: Andrew Bassett
Company Details: Glanville Consultants
Company Position Title: Senior Land Survey
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Faro Scene 5.3 into Recap

Post by Andybassett » Wed Jun 04, 2014 2:05 pm

Hello all,

I've been a avid reader for may years of the forum but now I need your help.

I have just upgraded from Faro Scene 5.2.6 to Scene 5.3 and having a few issues with importing the data into Autodesk Recap.

When importing the Isproj or the FLS from Scene 5.3 into Recap nothing is imported - I have also updated Recap to the latest version.

Is it something I've missed or are the two not compatible at the moment.

I have used AutoCAD 2014 to process the 5.3 FLS files into PCG and this ran ok

Any help would be greatly received

Many Thanks

Andy Bassett

AG_MJA
I have made 50-60 posts
I have made 50-60 posts
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 1:03 pm
Full Name: Mark Anderson
Company Details: Academy Geomatics Ltd
Company Position Title: Director
Country: England

Re: Faro Scene 5.3 into Recap

Post by AG_MJA » Wed Jun 04, 2014 2:40 pm

You probably need to install the 5.3 SDKs. 64bit systems need to install both the 64bit version and the 32bit version of the SDKs.

http://www.faro.com/faro-3d-app-center/ ... rter-(sdk)

Andybassett
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 4:45 pm
Full Name: Andrew Bassett
Company Details: Glanville Consultants
Company Position Title: Senior Land Survey
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Faro Scene 5.3 into Recap

Post by Andybassett » Wed Jun 04, 2014 3:02 pm

Many thanks for your reply

Forgot to say, already loaded both the 32 & 64 bit SDK still no joy

User avatar
Stuart_Nash
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 1:27 pm
Full Name: Stuart Nash
Company Details: Opti-cal Survey Equipment
Company Position Title: Laser Scanning Business Manager
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Faro Scene 5.3 into Recap

Post by Stuart_Nash » Wed Jun 04, 2014 3:45 pm

Hi Andy,

Here is a method that should fix the issue.

After installing the SDK, you have to register the new DLLs:
- Open a cmd
- Navigate to C:\Windows\winsxs\amd64_faro.ls_1d23f5635ba800ab_1.1.503.0_none_347e8cc7032f51d6
- Enter “regsvr32 iqopen.dll”
- Enter “regsvr32 faro.ls.sdk.dll“
- Restart Recap
Stuart Nash
Opti-cal Survey Equipment Ltd
3 Orpheus House, Calleva Park
Aldermaston, Reading, RG7 8TA
T: 01189 820 500 M: 07909 742 528
E: stuart.nash@surveyequipment.com
For technical support please email: support@surveyequipment.com

Andybassett
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 4:45 pm
Full Name: Andrew Bassett
Company Details: Glanville Consultants
Company Position Title: Senior Land Survey
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Faro Scene 5.3 into Recap

Post by Andybassett » Wed Jun 04, 2014 4:27 pm

Many thanks for all of you replies.

I have registered the dll's and now all seems happy again.

Once again, many thanks and I knew there would be someone out there with the answer.

Andy Bassett

py.perret
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 9:22 am
Full Name: PERRET
Company Details: Degottex Industrie
Company Position Title: Technicien BE
Country: France
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Faro Scene 5.3 into Recap

Post by py.perret » Wed Jun 11, 2014 8:41 am

Hello,

How do you create the DLLs?

Thanks

ghale
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 2:27 am
Full Name: Greg Hale
Company Details: HALE Technology in Practice
Company Position Title: CTO
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Faro Scene 5.3 into Recap

Post by ghale » Wed Jun 11, 2014 6:12 pm

When I register the .dll's in the command prompt I get the following error: "The module "iqopen.dll" was loaded but the call to DllRegisterServer failed with error code 0x80070005."

The 32 and 64 bit SDK's are both installed. How can I get these dll's registered? Thanks

brianpgreen
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 306
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 8:46 pm
Full Name: Brian Green
Company Details: Green Forensics-Azure Green Consultants
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: United States
Skype Name: brian.green.forensics
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Faro Scene 5.3 into Recap

Post by brianpgreen » Tue Jun 24, 2014 6:00 pm

Greg - Try running the cmd prompt as administrator.
ghale wrote:When I register the .dll's in the command prompt I get the following error: "The module "iqopen.dll" was loaded but the call to DllRegisterServer failed with error code 0x80070005."

The 32 and 64 bit SDK's are both installed. How can I get these dll's registered? Thanks

User avatar
Dedken
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 354
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 10:28 am
Full Name: Kenneth Bazley
Company Details: Sir Robert McAlpine
Company Position Title: Laser Scan Analyst
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: London

Re: Faro Scene 5.3 into Recap

Post by Dedken » Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:06 am

Having just been through this process myself I can confirm that running cmd as administrator to register the dlls does the trick. Cheers all.
All views are my own and are not representative of my employer, The Queen, God or anyone else for that matter.

"we need an instrument, to take a measurement" - I.MacKaye 1992

User avatar
imcid953
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 2:03 pm
Full Name: William J. Bryan
Company Details: Eye On Detail
Company Position Title: CEO
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: Faro Scene 5.3 into Recap

Post by imcid953 » Wed Jun 25, 2014 2:42 pm

Okay, here is a dumb question. What does SDK do?

Thanks,

Bill
William J. Bryan

"Question with boldness even the existence of a God; because, if there be one, he must more approve of the homage of reason, than that of blind-folded fear." - Thomas Jefferson.

Return to “Faro”