Removing traffice from scans of roadways

Discuss all FARO related issues here.
wgrimes
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Full Name: Wesley Grimes
Company Details: Collision Engineering Associates Inc.
Company Position Title: President - engineer
Linkedin Profile: No

Removing traffice from scans of roadways

Post by wgrimes » Fri Jul 26, 2013 10:05 pm

I work in the forensic field, studying car crashes. I don't have a badge, so I can't stop traffic for my scans!!! I've been struggling with getting traffic in the photos made after the scan. I have talked at length to David Dustin about it, and with his assistance and guidance I've come up with one suggestion.

First, I wish Faro would let me pause the scanner during the photo capture, so that if traffic is coming I could just pause until traffic clears.

Since this seems unlikely in the near future, so I came up with this technique. Basically, just leave the scanner exactly where it is and rescan at the lowest resolution available (1/32nd)....and have the scanner make a duplicate set of images. This takes about 2-1/2 minutes....which is cheap time-wise. I will sometimes even capture a 3rd scan (2nd at low resolution) just to increase the odds that I have images without vehicles.

Here is an example of a pano with traffic blocking an area of interest.

After the scanner completes the scan process, it captures photos (if that option is activated). It will capture 85 photos. In order to access these photos use the Operations|Color/Pictures|ExportAllPictures command. You will be asked for a folder name....create a folder to hold these 85 original photos. Note that they are numbered 0 to 84. I spent some time and figured out where these photos are situated in the pano.

Here is a grid with photo numbers overlaid.