Parameter FARO Laser Scaning S350

Discuss all FARO related issues here.
Post Reply
tuananhskip
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2017 4:27 am
Full Name: Anh
Company Details: Global Star Expert JSC
Company Position Title: Engineer
Country: VN

Parameter FARO Laser Scaning S350

Post by tuananhskip » Wed May 16, 2018 7:50 am

Hi everyone
I user FARO Laser Scan S350 to scan a factory, then 3D model process from point cloud. I don't have experience setup the parameter to have the best quality of point cloud to model. Everybody can share your experience to help me in this situation, please?

WarrenT
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 1:19 pm
Full Name: Warren Thole
Company Details: iqlaser
Company Position Title: iqlaser
Country: South Africa
Skype Name: warren.thole4
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Parameter FARO Laser Scaning S350

Post by WarrenT » Fri May 18, 2018 10:11 am

Good day

in the factory i would use the following:
Indoor, 10m +
1/2 or 1/4 resolution
4x resolution

User avatar
TommyMaddox
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 230
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 7:15 pm
Full Name: Tommy R Maddox III
Company Details: FARO Technologies Inc
Company Position Title: Sales Engineer- AEC Tech Specialist
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Columbia, South Carolina

Re: Parameter FARO Laser Scaning S350

Post by TommyMaddox » Fri May 18, 2018 1:31 pm

tuananhskip wrote:
Wed May 16, 2018 7:50 am
Hi everyone
I user FARO Laser Scan S350 to scan a factory, then 3D model process from point cloud. I don't have experience setup the parameter to have the best quality of point cloud to model. Everybody can share your experience to help me in this situation, please?
Hi there,

What software are you using to model from the point cloud? What level of detail and accuracy do you need to achieve? How many scans (or what size area) do you need to cover?

Hopefully we can get you on your way to a successful project outcome :)

tuananhskip
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2017 4:27 am
Full Name: Anh
Company Details: Global Star Expert JSC
Company Position Title: Engineer
Country: VN

Re: Parameter FARO Laser Scaning S350

Post by tuananhskip » Mon May 21, 2018 9:10 am

WarrenT wrote:
Fri May 18, 2018 10:11 am
Good day

in the factory i would use the following:
Indoor, 10m +
1/2 or 1/4 resolution
4x resolution
Thank for your help. Should I use HDR mode in this case? The HDR setting have 2x,3x and 5x options. I want to know what differentia of each option?

tuananhskip
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2017 4:27 am
Full Name: Anh
Company Details: Global Star Expert JSC
Company Position Title: Engineer
Country: VN

Re: Parameter FARO Laser Scaning S350

Post by tuananhskip » Mon May 21, 2018 9:18 am

TommyMaddox wrote:
Fri May 18, 2018 1:31 pm
tuananhskip wrote:
Wed May 16, 2018 7:50 am
Hi everyone
I user FARO Laser Scan S350 to scan a factory, then 3D model process from point cloud. I don't have experience setup the parameter to have the best quality of point cloud to model. Everybody can share your experience to help me in this situation, please?
Hi there,

What software are you using to model from the point cloud? What level of detail and accuracy do you need to achieve? How many scans (or what size area) do you need to cover?

Hopefully we can get you on your way to a successful project outcome :)
I know we have 4 level of 3D model from point cloud. I use Point Scense for Revit to model process. I think each level will have a different parameter.

Post Reply

Return to “FARO”