Exporting point clouds from Realworks

Discuss all Trimble related issues here.
Post Reply
JamesRichards12
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 12:34 pm
Full Name: James Richards
Company Details: Benchmark Surveys
Company Position Title: Land Surveyor
Country: England
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Exporting point clouds from Realworks

Post by JamesRichards12 » Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:16 pm

Hi guys,

I need to export a point cloud from Realworks and import it into Autodesk Revit.

What is the best file format to save the exported point cloud as in order to import it into Revit?

Thanks

James Richards
Benchmark Surveys

ecrowe
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 5:34 pm
Full Name: Eric Crowe
Company Details: WM3D
Company Position Title: WM3D
Country: United States

Re: Exporting point clouds from Realworks

Post by ecrowe » Tue Mar 28, 2017 4:36 pm

My preferred workflow is to export then entire project as PTX files and then import those into ReCap. Insert the ReCap file into Revit and you are good to go.

ChrisHarris
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 3:17 pm
Full Name: Chris Harris
Company Details: KOREC
Company Position Title: Strategic Account Manager
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Exporting point clouds from Realworks

Post by ChrisHarris » Tue Mar 28, 2017 4:38 pm

Hi James, just spotted this so I'll get someone to give you a call and talk you through it.

RCP format might be the easiest.

RichardSelby
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 1:19 pm
Full Name: Richard Selby
Company Details: KOREC Group Ltd.
Company Position Title: Training Manager
Country: United Kingdom
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Exporting point clouds from Realworks

Post by RichardSelby » Tue Mar 28, 2017 7:53 pm

Hi James,

For Revit you'll need to go via a Recap (RCP) file format. You can create an RCP project file directly from RealWorks if you have a licensed version of Recap running on the same PC as RealWorks. If not, then export an E57 file and import this to Recap. E57 is relatively compact in terms of file size. Regards, Richard.

User avatar
Vincent DENIS
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 9:25 am
Full Name: Vincent Denis
Company Details: GEOMESURE
Company Position Title: Technical Sales Engineer
Country: France
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Contact:

Re: Exporting point clouds from Realworks

Post by Vincent DENIS » Wed Mar 29, 2017 7:36 am

Hi,
You can create an RCP project file directly from RealWorks if you have a licensed version of Recap running on the same PC as RealWorks
Realy? What license do you mean? Recap pro? or any license. Because i have Recap on the same PC as Realworks but i dont find the RCP export

RichardSelby
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 1:19 pm
Full Name: Richard Selby
Company Details: KOREC Group Ltd.
Company Position Title: Training Manager
Country: United Kingdom
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Exporting point clouds from Realworks

Post by RichardSelby » Wed Mar 29, 2017 1:45 pm

Hi, I mean a purchased license for Recap Pro, version 3.0 and newer. Richard.

Muleymuel
I have made 50-60 posts
I have made 50-60 posts
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 10:02 am
Full Name: Sam Lynas
Company Details: PCL
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: UK

Re: Exporting point clouds from Realworks

Post by Muleymuel » Tue Jul 25, 2017 1:42 pm

I am also having trouble with this. All latest versions of realworks and recap, with pro license and realworks recap plugin installed. I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling to no avail.

ANY IDEAS?

NAZEEM
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2019 10:00 pm
Full Name: Nazeem
Company Details: Conserve Green Building and MEP Solution
Company Position Title: BIM Modeler
Country: India
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Exporting point clouds from Realworks

Post by NAZEEM » Mon Mar 04, 2019 11:50 am

Hi brothers , I have lattest verson of Recap so i Export .rcp directly from the realworks thanks for the information, then while exporting like this i cant able to get panaromic image (realviews ) in Recap so please help to to solve this issues.

Geo Scan Surveying
I have made 30-40 posts
I have made 30-40 posts
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 1:43 pm
Full Name: Sam Lynas
Company Details: Geo Scan Surveying Solutions
Company Position Title: Director
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Exporting point clouds from Realworks

Post by Geo Scan Surveying » Mon Mar 04, 2019 1:44 pm

Have you tried exporting from within Registration mode? It used to be that the stations were preserved doing it this way but not entirely sure if this is still the case.

Post Reply

Return to “Trimble”