RW - Sampling scans deleting

Discuss all Trimble related issues here.
Post Reply
JkX7
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 9:32 pm
Full Name: Jiri Krejci
Company Details: DiGiTry Art Technologies
Company Position Title: SEO - Photogrammetry and laser scanning
Country: Czech Republic
Linkedin Profile: Yes

RW - Sampling scans deleting

Post by JkX7 » Thu Apr 26, 2018 10:41 am

Hello, is there anybody who know how to fast delete only scan sampling?
EG.: I have loaded TZF scans and i sample them by spatial sampling to 1 cm, but then i realize that i dont need that much and i want them sample by range too so ia have to delete every sampling made one by one (in project with 400 scans is exhausting). is there any way to do this quicker?
Thx for any advice

jaredmatthews
I have made 90-100 posts
I have made 90-100 posts
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 7:19 pm
Full Name: Jared
Company Details: Sova Surveys Limited
Company Position Title: Director
Country: UK
Skype Name: jaredmatthews
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Contact:

Re: RW - Sampling scans deleting

Post by jaredmatthews » Fri May 11, 2018 9:29 am

I'm not sure there is a quick way to do this.
I also sometimes create preview scans twice by mistake and have duplicates, which I then have to go and delete one by one. It's a pain.

Sent from my E6653 using Tapatalk


apjokr
I have made 70-80 posts
I have made 70-80 posts
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 9:58 am
Full Name: Robert
Company Details: Construsoft
Company Position Title: Support engineer
Country: Hungary
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: RW - Sampling scans deleting

Post by apjokr » Fri May 11, 2018 10:01 am

Perhaps with 400 scans nothing is so comfortable, but

I would recommend to use the spatial sampling from the Production menu then, and apply it to the already derived data can be found under the Project cloud.
So as the first step you derive something (which can be already good) from the raw data with the tool you used, then from this you are producing/editing further in the Production module. There you can segmentate the cloud and apply the spatial sampling again = as a result is applies to the cloud as a whole not for the stations individually which will give you a more equally dense cloud.

For example, whatever you gave in the first step you will have more than enough points on the ground so if you use the Ground extraction or just fence the ground approx, then apply the spatial sampling for the ground with 20mm you will already save millions of not necessary points. Then merge back the cut ground (Ctrl+M).
*for situations where you are not particularly interested in ground features.

For similar situations I already did enhancement request for multiple selections under the tools, hopefully soon we can see these useful features.

geedaa83
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 12:39 pm
Full Name: Mohamed AbdEl-Magied
Company Details: Jatco
Company Position Title: Jatco
Country: Saudi Arabia
Skype Name: geedaa83
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Contact:

Re: RW - Sampling scans deleting

Post by geedaa83 » Fri May 11, 2018 12:02 pm

Hello

i need to suggest something, as long as you have TZF so open new RealWorks interface then import TZF files then save this project with new name after that you can make new sampling specs which you need then done.

in case you are worry about registration of these tZF so from old project under rigeteration ribbn you can export RWX files then import these rwx files and you will find same registration applied
Thank You

Mahmed AbdEl-Magied
+966565841792
m83abdelmaged@gmail.com

apjokr
I have made 70-80 posts
I have made 70-80 posts
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 9:58 am
Full Name: Robert
Company Details: Construsoft
Company Position Title: Support engineer
Country: Hungary
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: RW - Sampling scans deleting

Post by apjokr » Fri May 11, 2018 12:54 pm

geedaa83 wrote:
Fri May 11, 2018 12:02 pm
Hello

in case you are worry about registration of these tZF so from old project under rigeteration ribbn you can export RWX files then import these rwx files and you will find same registration applied
*RMX , but +1 for this Mohamed ;)

Mind
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2014 2:05 pm
Full Name: Mindaugas Juska
Company Details: Freelancing
Company Position Title: Scanning Specialist
Country: LT
Skype Name: mind.juska
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: RW - Sampling scans deleting

Post by Mind » Mon May 14, 2018 7:13 pm

Hello,
month ago I also was looking for how to delete 1000+ sampled scans. Find out that you can use search for this. In HOME tab there is a Search group. There is FIND command - you can search by your samped scan names. If it was created by default - just write "sample", select all and delete them.

jaredmatthews
I have made 90-100 posts
I have made 90-100 posts
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 7:19 pm
Full Name: Jared
Company Details: Sova Surveys Limited
Company Position Title: Director
Country: UK
Skype Name: jaredmatthews
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Contact:

Re: RW - Sampling scans deleting

Post by jaredmatthews » Mon May 14, 2018 7:19 pm

That's a great workflow Mind. That works. Thanks for that :-)

Sent from my E6653 using Tapatalk


User avatar
tchaper
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 8:47 am
Full Name: Thomas Chaperon
Company Details: Trimble
Company Position Title: Senior software engineer
Country: France
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: RW - Sampling scans deleting

Post by tchaper » Tue May 15, 2018 2:45 pm

Hi,

FYI you might also want to use the Find capability in TRW: press Ctrl+F or go to Home>Search>Find.
This is a very useful feature to select a series of objects of same type and/or name.
For instance, in Jiri's use case, it is possible to select all the scans whose name contains 'Sample 1mm', then select them from the obtained list, and delete them or display them, etc.

Best regards,
Thomas

Post Reply

Return to “Trimble”