Indoor scan registration without targets RealWorks

Discuss all Trimble related issues here.
Post Reply
nathanms
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 7:15 pm
Full Name: Nathan Stephenson
Company Details: Frontier Precision
Company Position Title: Laser Scanning Engineer
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Indoor scan registration without targets RealWorks

Post by nathanms » Tue Aug 15, 2017 10:59 pm

Hello Scan Community,

I am trying to register some indoor scans using a Trimble SX10 but I'm having some difficulties because the cloud-based registration tool only shows the 'outside' of the scans which is virtually impossible to point pick similar points. I need to have a station view or 'inside' view in order to choose the right points. Does anyone have input on this? Using Trimble RealWorks Tank Module 10.3

User avatar
tchaper
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 8:47 am
Full Name: Thomas Chaperon
Company Details: Trimble
Company Position Title: Senior software engineer
Country: France
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Indoor scan registration without targets RealWorks

Post by tchaper » Tue Sep 19, 2017 11:54 am

Hello Nathan,
You might want to try one of the following actions - or a combination of them:
- Switch to 'perspective' projection mode and zoom onto the inside of the building. you should be able to locate the view around the station position.
- Choose the 'See inside' visibility mode to hide the walls that are facing the current view when viewing from the outside.
- Use the magnifier mode to focus on an area of interest to be able to pick the right points. To run the magnifier mode, hold the N key pressed.
I hope this helps.
Thanks,
Thomas

jaredmatthews
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 7:19 pm
Full Name: Jared
Company Details: Sova Surveys Limited
Company Position Title: Director
Country: UK
Skype Name: jaredmatthews
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Contact:

Re: Indoor scan registration without targets RealWorks

Post by jaredmatthews » Tue Apr 10, 2018 10:55 pm

Old thread, I know, but another solution is to create a limit box and manipulate it to hide the roof/floor/obstructing points

Post Reply

Return to “Trimble”