Leica CloudWorx for Revit

Discuss all Leica Geosystems related issues here.
Post Reply
Kaili
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 12:52 pm
Full Name: Christodoulos Kaili
Company Details: Newcastle University
Company Position Title: Student
Country: United Kingom
Skype Name: christodoulos.kailis
Linkedin Profile: No

Leica CloudWorx for Revit

Post by Kaili »

Hi i am using Autodesk Revit 2013 (the student version). I have downloaded the Leica CloudWorx for Revit however when i am trying to open the Autodesk Revit a command appears that inform me that the system failed to load license. Could you tell me how to fix the problem.

Thanks a lot
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

emsurveys
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 10:39 pm
Full Name: Matt
Company Details: Engineering and Mapping Surveys
Company Position Title: Director
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Australia
Contact:

Leica CloudWorx for Revit

Post by emsurveys »

That's because you need to buy the licence file (or get a demo) from Leica. If you have it then it needs to be added to the license file in your Program Files/Cyclone folder.

User avatar
SCCS RTC
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1049
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 9:30 am
Full Name: Phil Marsh
Company Details: SCCS Survey Equipment Limited
Company Position Title: Reality Capture Manager
Country: UK
Skype Name: Phil.H.Marsh
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Barnsley, UK
Been thanked: 11 times
Contact:

Re: Leica CloudWorx for Revit

Post by SCCS RTC »

If you open Cyclone and click the display licenses button and post a screen shot we can see what licenses are available.
SCCS Survey Equipment Limited
M: 07540 201383
E: [email protected]
W: www.sccsurvey.co.uk
Image

Kaili
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 12:52 pm
Full Name: Christodoulos Kaili
Company Details: Newcastle University
Company Position Title: Student
Country: United Kingom
Skype Name: christodoulos.kailis
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Leica CloudWorx for Revit

Post by Kaili »

SCCS HDS wrote:If you open Cyclone and click the display licenses button and post a screen shot we can see what licenses are available.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
pburrows145
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 2678
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:16 am
Full Name: Paul Burrows
Company Details: Leica Geosystems Europe
Company Position Title: Scanning Solutions Manager - Europe
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Leica CloudWorx for Revit

Post by pburrows145 »

You will need to contact your local HDS Support team and request a demo license.

User avatar
Vincent DENIS
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 250
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 9:25 am
Full Name: Vincent Denis
Company Details: GEOMESURE
Company Position Title: Technical Sales Engineer
Country: France
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Leica CloudWorx for Revit

Post by Vincent DENIS »

Question : Why use Cloudworx when Revit can load point cloud?

Kaili
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 12:52 pm
Full Name: Christodoulos Kaili
Company Details: Newcastle University
Company Position Title: Student
Country: United Kingom
Skype Name: christodoulos.kailis
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Leica CloudWorx for Revit

Post by Kaili »

Vincent DENIS wrote:Question : Why use Cloudworx when Revit can load point cloud?
Actually i have converted the point cloud data from leica cyclone in order to import it in Revit how ever i can not import it in Revit. Do you know in which format i have to convert it in order to import it in Revit ?

User avatar
Matt Young
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5141
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:03 pm
Full Name: Matt Young
Company Details: Baker Hicks
Company Position Title: CAD-BIM Lead
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: Leica CloudWorx for Revit

Post by Matt Young »

The native file format for Revit is PCG.

You can import and index other file types to create a PCG - PTS, FLS etc.

If you go to the insert tab in Revit and select point cloud you can then see which RAW formats are accepted.
If you don't see that there is nothing, then you are kidding yourself.

User avatar
pburrows145
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 2678
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:16 am
Full Name: Paul Burrows
Company Details: Leica Geosystems Europe
Company Position Title: Scanning Solutions Manager - Europe
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Leica CloudWorx for Revit

Post by pburrows145 »

Vincent DENIS wrote:Question : Why use Cloudworx when Revit can load point cloud?
Try Cloudworx for Revit and you will see the difference. It eliminates an export step (It opens IMP files directly without conversion to PTS and then to PCG) and the general performance of the cloud and the tools are much better.

Ask your local rep for a trial license, they normally offer 14-30 days.

Oatfedgoat
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1308
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 8:31 pm
Full Name: Matthew McCarter
Company Details: Costain
Company Position Title: BIM Manager
Country: England
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Leica CloudWorx for Revit

Post by Oatfedgoat »

Vincent DENIS wrote:Question : Why use Cloudworx when Revit can load point cloud?
Whilst the implementation form the large cad vendors of native point cloud use is always improving, it isn't quite up to the useability and performance of Cloudworx...... yet.

I suspect this will change in 2013, and then we can all have fun debating if it is worth the hassle to use point clouds natively due to the export then import/index steps we have to do.

Post Reply

Return to “Leica Geosystems”