BLK360 Level

Discuss all Leica Geosystems related issues here.
Post Reply
charlesdab
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 5:05 pm
Full Name: Charles
Company Details: DFC
Company Position Title: Principal
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No

BLK360 Level

Post by charlesdab »

Hi All!

It seems like the conventional wisdom around these parts is that BLK360 does not produce level scan data and needs to be registered along with surveyed points or a level reference.

I just conducted a test where I kept the tripod about 15deg out of level and shot a couple scans. When I registered in ReCrap it came came in right at level.

1- Was there some change and is ReCrap or BLK360 now using level data?
2- Or maybe this data isn't actually level, and it just appears to be very close?

DavidJames
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2020 11:42 am
Full Name: Davo
Company Details: Scanning
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: BLK360 Level

Post by DavidJames »

They had a firmware update that said it resolved the issue, I never experienced it myself though and did the same test by tilting it severely.

My issue is these random black lines that keep showing up in the scans and usually in sunlight

My bigger complaint is dimensions in recap can read 2/8 4/8 and so on.

I guess Autodesk is into cooking more than engineering

User avatar
pburrows145
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1831
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:16 am
Full Name: Paul Burrows
Company Details: Leica Geosystems Europe
Company Position Title: Scanning Solutions Manager - Europe
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 26 times

Re: BLK360 Level

Post by pburrows145 »

charlesdab wrote:
Mon Mar 09, 2020 3:31 pm
Hi All!

It seems like the conventional wisdom around these parts is that BLK360 does not produce level scan data and needs to be registered along with surveyed points or a level reference.

I just conducted a test where I kept the tripod about 15deg out of level and shot a couple scans. When I registered in ReCrap it came came in right at level.

1- Was there some change and is ReCrap or BLK360 now using level data?
2- Or maybe this data isn't actually level, and it just appears to be very close?
It might be "level" data, but it is not "levelled"... the level info is being provided by the IMU, not a Dual Axis Compensator. If a project requires survey control, then apply it accordingly - I would not personally rely on the IMU reading alone in that scenario.

jedfrechette
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 903
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 7:51 pm
Full Name: Jed Frechette
Company Details: Lidar Guys
Company Position Title: CEO and Lidar Supervisor
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 22 times
Contact:

Re: BLK360 Level

Post by jedfrechette »

charlesdab wrote:
Mon Mar 09, 2020 3:31 pm
I just conducted a test where I kept the tripod about 15deg out of level and shot a couple scans. When I registered in ReCrap it came came in right at level.
How did you determine that it was level?
Jed

charlesdab
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 5:05 pm
Full Name: Charles
Company Details: DFC
Company Position Title: Principal
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: BLK360 Level

Post by charlesdab »

jedfrechette wrote:
Mon Mar 09, 2020 4:32 pm
charlesdab wrote:
Mon Mar 09, 2020 3:31 pm
I just conducted a test where I kept the tripod about 15deg out of level and shot a couple scans. When I registered in ReCrap it came came in right at level.
How did you determine that it was level?
Good question! I should have been more clear. Visually, it appeared level.

I'm not sure I need a proper survey control for my type of work. It's for a temporary install of some entertainment equipment. The use case is looking for any variances in the floor greater than about 1/2".

My other plan was to bring a laser level and put some level targets on the wall as a reference point.

Post Reply

Return to “Leica Geosystems”