Leica HDS3000

Discuss all Leica Geosystems related issues here.
User avatar
Phil Marsh
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2233
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 2:28 pm
Full Name: Phil Marsh
Company Details: Laser Scanning Forum Ltd
Company Position Title: Technical Director
Country: UK
Skype Name: phil.h.marsh
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Barnsley, UK
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: Leica HDS3000

Post by Phil Marsh »

Formula1982 wrote:
Tue Jan 07, 2020 2:58 pm
General question...if I were to install an older version of Cyclone which has scan control built in (removed from later versions of Cyclone) would it be able to control scanners like we used to or would the firmware not be compatible now? The most modern scanner we've used with scan control was the C10, but does anyone know if scan control would work with a P40 or P50?

I really miss scan control, it's great for having precise control over your scanning which you miss if all you have is a small touch screen. It'd be great to know if scan control was still an option...and what it would work with!!
No, it only had certain scanners listed that you could connect to.
LASER SCANNING FORUM
[email protected]

GavFoster
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 4:44 pm
Full Name: Gavin Foster
Company Details: Offset Services Ltd
Company Position Title: Photogrammetry - Laser Scan

Re: Leica HDS3000

Post by GavFoster »

Formula1982 wrote:
Tue Jan 07, 2020 2:58 pm
General question...if I were to install an older version of Cyclone which has scan control built in (removed from later versions of Cyclone) would it be able to control scanners like we used to or would the firmware not be compatible now? The most modern scanner we've used with scan control was the C10, but does anyone know if scan control would work with a P40 or P50?

I really miss scan control, it's great for having precise control over your scanning which you miss if all you have is a small touch screen. It'd be great to know if scan control was still an option...and what it would work with!!
Can you not just connect to your P40 using the onboard WiFi and control it using remote desktop? The screen doesn't always scale too well but as you say it's better than working on the tiny screen.

Hans Tuexsen
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2016 2:01 pm
Full Name: Hans-Herbert Tuexsen
Company Details: Leica Geosystems
Company Position Title: Product Manager TLS
Country: Switzerland
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Leica HDS3000

Post by Hans Tuexsen »

Install the Simulator on a Notebook or Windows Tablet and connect wireless or with a cable to the Pxx scanner. The complete UI is then available on the external device and can be operated in full screen mode. In such a scenario it is also possible to store the complete raw data in real time on the external device.

User avatar
Jason Warren
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 3245
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 9:21 am
Full Name: Jason Warren
Company Details: Laser Scanning Forum Ltd
Company Position Title: Co-Founder
Country: UK
Skype Name: jason_warren
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Retford, UK
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 16 times
Contact:

Re: Leica HDS3000

Post by Jason Warren »

Hi Jason,
Tracking Number as promised:
RN586835459GB

https://www.royalmail.com/track-your-it ... 86835459GB
Jason Warren
jason.warren[at]laserscanningforum.com

Add a LSF Google Review here: https://g.page/laser-scanning-forum-ltd/review?mp

User avatar
Giassone
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2019 3:50 pm
Full Name: Jason Charalambides
Company Details: Architectural and Engineering services
Company Position Title: Authorised representative
Country: United States
Has thanked: 8 times

Re: Leica HDS3000

Post by Giassone »

Thank you Jason. Got the CD and a beautiful ballpoint pen with those extras! That was very kind!

User avatar
Jason Warren
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 3245
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 9:21 am
Full Name: Jason Warren
Company Details: Laser Scanning Forum Ltd
Company Position Title: Co-Founder
Country: UK
Skype Name: jason_warren
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Retford, UK
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 16 times
Contact:

Re: Leica HDS3000

Post by Jason Warren »

my pleasure.... ;)

if anyone wants one of these fantastic LSF pens - torch - stylus, best get in touch with our Phil before there all gone :?

Image

Image
Jason Warren
jason.warren[at]laserscanningforum.com

Add a LSF Google Review here: https://g.page/laser-scanning-forum-ltd/review?mp

User avatar
NOVAMECH
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 239
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 5:43 am
Full Name: Nick Bush
Company Details: NOVAMECH
Company Position Title: Director
Country: New Zealand
Skype Name: novamech5
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Leica HDS3000

Post by NOVAMECH »

Find someone with an old laptop - with a cloned Hard Drive. The license & software stays on the clone. TOTALY illegal. :o but only if you get court. Much like Hillary Clinton

User avatar
Giassone
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2019 3:50 pm
Full Name: Jason Charalambides
Company Details: Architectural and Engineering services
Company Position Title: Authorised representative
Country: United States
Has thanked: 8 times

Re: Leica HDS3000

Post by Giassone »

Like Hillary Clinton! I love it! Man, you're such a sport!

User avatar
Giassone
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2019 3:50 pm
Full Name: Jason Charalambides
Company Details: Architectural and Engineering services
Company Position Title: Authorised representative
Country: United States
Has thanked: 8 times

Re: Leica HDS3000

Post by Giassone »

It is on "Viewer" mode now. I did not manage to get it to communicate or control the HDS3000. Any suggestions? I also sent Leica an email at the address indicated in the user's manual, but no response so far.
To my delight, the CD has software that has something to do with Microstation SE that I use. I hope it integrates well with it once I get it to work in regular mode. I don't know what I am doing wrong and being such a rookie in this, I fear I will keep doing things wrong for a while.
Screen Shot 2020-01-18 at 9.27.11 PM.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Jason Warren
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 3245
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 9:21 am
Full Name: Jason Warren
Company Details: Laser Scanning Forum Ltd
Company Position Title: Co-Founder
Country: UK
Skype Name: jason_warren
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Retford, UK
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 16 times
Contact:

Re: Leica HDS3000

Post by Jason Warren »

Giassone wrote:
Sun Jan 19, 2020 2:46 am
It is on "Viewer" mode now. I did not manage to get it to communicate or control the HDS3000. Any suggestions? I also sent Leica an email at the address indicated in the user's manual, but no response so far.
To my delight, the CD has software that has something to do with Microstation SE that I use. I hope it integrates well with it once I get it to work in regular mode. I don't know what I am doing wrong and being such a rookie in this, I fear I will keep doing things wrong for a while.
Are you using a crossover cable to connect with the HDS3000?

An Ethernet crossover cable is a crossover cable for Ethernet used to connect computing devices together directly. It is most often used to connect two devices of the same type, e.g. two computers
Jason Warren
jason.warren[at]laserscanningforum.com

Add a LSF Google Review here: https://g.page/laser-scanning-forum-ltd/review?mp

Post Reply

Return to “Leica Geosystems”