Register 360 scan limit still 500?

Discuss all Leica Geosystems related issues here.
Post Reply
winslowkr
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 7:39 pm
Full Name: Kevin Winslow
Company Details: Olsson
Company Position Title: Surveying-Reality Capture-107 UAV Pilot
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: No

Register 360 scan limit still 500?

Post by winslowkr » Fri May 17, 2019 3:03 pm

I remember that when Cyclone Register 360 came out it had a 500 scan limit built in. Does anyone know if that limit still exist?
Kevin Winslow
Surveying/Reality Capture/UAV Pilot
Olsson

ericguizzetti
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 6:56 pm
Full Name: Eric Guizzetti
Company Details: Construction and Engineering
Company Position Title: RealityCapture
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Register 360 scan limit still 500?

Post by ericguizzetti » Fri May 17, 2019 9:18 pm

winslowkr wrote:
Fri May 17, 2019 3:03 pm
I remember that when Cyclone Register 360 came out it had a 500 scan limit built in. Does anyone know if that limit still exist?
I have completed a ton of scans with over 1000 positions. If that was the case I have never seen this issue?
Eric Guizzetti
San Diego, CA
Insta: ericguizzetti
Linkedin - https://www.linkedin.com/in/ericguizzetti/

winslowkr
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 7:39 pm
Full Name: Kevin Winslow
Company Details: Olsson
Company Position Title: Surveying-Reality Capture-107 UAV Pilot
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Register 360 scan limit still 500?

Post by winslowkr » Thu Jun 20, 2019 7:44 pm

Knock on wood, but I have answered my question by attempting my largest project. As I type this I am finalizing my project of 1,120 setups mostly RTC360 setups.

Thanks for the help.
Kevin Winslow
Surveying/Reality Capture/UAV Pilot
Olsson

User avatar
stevenramsey
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1697
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 9:22 pm
Full Name: Steven Ramsey
Company Details: 4DMax
Company Position Title: Technical Specialist Scanning
Country: UK
Skype Name: steven.ramsey
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: London
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Register 360 scan limit still 500?

Post by stevenramsey » Wed Jun 26, 2019 4:16 pm

Was this target based or c2c. if C2C how many links.

I have managed to bring in and register over a thousand scans but as it merged down to a single bundle with potentially thousands of c2c links it would no longer optimise. I'm really interested in your workflow and how much RAM you have.
Steven Ramsey

Home [email protected]
Work [email protected]
Mobile +44 7766 310 915

DoctaSayas
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 6:18 pm
Full Name: Caleb Sayers
Company Details: VIP AA
Company Position Title: Architectural Designer
Country: US
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 3 times

Re: Register 360 scan limit still 500?

Post by DoctaSayas » Wed Jun 26, 2019 4:43 pm

winslowkr wrote:
Thu Jun 20, 2019 7:44 pm
Knock on wood, but I have answered my question by attempting my largest project. As I type this I am finalizing my project of 1,120 setups mostly RTC360 setups.

Thanks for the help.
This has sort of already been asked, but is this with Register 360? Are these cloud to cloud ?

My overall question is, at what point(number of set-up) does Register 360 become unworkable, with the RTC360 with no targets?

winslowkr
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 7:39 pm
Full Name: Kevin Winslow
Company Details: Olsson
Company Position Title: Surveying-Reality Capture-107 UAV Pilot
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Register 360 scan limit still 500?

Post by winslowkr » Wed Jun 26, 2019 10:03 pm

DoctaSayas wrote:
Wed Jun 26, 2019 4:43 pm
This has sort of already been asked, but is this with Register 360? Are these cloud to cloud?
My overall question is, at what point(number of set-up) does Register 360 become unworkable, with the RTC360 with no targets?
stevenramsey wrote:
Wed Jun 26, 2019 4:16 pm
Was this target based or c2c. if C2C how many links. I have managed to bring in and register over a thousand scans but as it merged down to a single bundle with potentially thousands of c2c links it would no longer optimize. I'm really interested in your workflow and how much RAM you have.
My memoir will be called “My life of watching progress bars”.
-Make sure that Always bundle optimize upon link creation is on. Yep, it seems to take forever but you know right away when a link you added breaks the bundle.
-Register each area and make sure is optimizes and meets your QC. Yes most of my scans were C-C linked. I am creating versions along the way as I reach register milestones. The project was 1270 links.
-Use sitemaps to your advantage and only create the full bundle when you are done with everything else (QC and cleanup).
-I found it important to check no REG360 ask “would like to add these additional links”. These additional links would often break the optimization.

My Processing tower is an Alienware Area 51. I will never again get a gaming PC as my main processing PC, I will be moving to and Xeon processor and Quadro card setup. I have spent to much time dealing with blue screens because of hardware errors and problems. Also having the ability to add more than 64GB of ram will be nice.
-i9 7980ex
-64gb ram
-GTX1080 ti 11GB
-4x - 2tb WD SSDrive as working drives
Kevin Winslow
Surveying/Reality Capture/UAV Pilot
Olsson

User avatar
TimJervis
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 8:56 pm
Full Name: Tim Jervis
Company Details: Global Survey
Company Position Title: Business Development Manager
Country: New Zealand
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Register 360 scan limit still 500?

Post by TimJervis » Wed Jun 26, 2019 10:24 pm

winslowkr wrote:
Wed Jun 26, 2019 10:03 pm
DoctaSayas wrote:
Wed Jun 26, 2019 4:43 pm
This has sort of already been asked, but is this with Register 360? Are these cloud to cloud?
My overall question is, at what point(number of set-up) does Register 360 become unworkable, with the RTC360 with no targets?
stevenramsey wrote:
Wed Jun 26, 2019 4:16 pm
Was this target based or c2c. if C2C how many links. I have managed to bring in and register over a thousand scans but as it merged down to a single bundle with potentially thousands of c2c links it would no longer optimize. I'm really interested in your workflow and how much RAM you have.
My memoir will be called “My life of watching progress bars”.
-Make sure that Always bundle optimize upon link creation is on. Yep, it seems to take forever but you know right away when a link you added breaks the bundle.
-Register each area and make sure is optimizes and meets your QC. Yes most of my scans were C-C linked. I am creating versions along the way as I reach register milestones. The project was 1270 links.
-Use sitemaps to your advantage and only create the full bundle when you are done with everything else (QC and cleanup).
-I found it important to check no REG360 ask “would like to add these additional links”. These additional links would often break the optimization.

My Processing tower is an Alienware Area 51. I will never again get a gaming PC as my main processing PC, I will be moving to and Xeon processor and Quadro card setup. I have spent to much time dealing with blue screens because of hardware errors and problems. Also having the ability to add more than 64GB of ram will be nice.
-i9 7980ex
-64gb ram
-GTX1080 ti 11GB
-4x - 2tb WD SSDrive as working drives
Nice advice Kevin.
Regards,

Tim

User avatar
stevenramsey
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1697
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 9:22 pm
Full Name: Steven Ramsey
Company Details: 4DMax
Company Position Title: Technical Specialist Scanning
Country: UK
Skype Name: steven.ramsey
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: London
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Register 360 scan limit still 500?

Post by stevenramsey » Thu Jun 27, 2019 3:43 pm

-Register each area and make sure is optimizes and meets your QC. Yes most of my scans were C-C linked. I am creating versions along the way as I reach register milestones. The project was 1270 links.
How many scans made up the 1270 links
Steven Ramsey

Home [email protected]
Work [email protected]
Mobile +44 7766 310 915

winslowkr
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 7:39 pm
Full Name: Kevin Winslow
Company Details: Olsson
Company Position Title: Surveying-Reality Capture-107 UAV Pilot
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Register 360 scan limit still 500?

Post by winslowkr » Mon Jul 15, 2019 3:54 pm

1120
Kevin Winslow
Surveying/Reality Capture/UAV Pilot
Olsson

User avatar
gsisman
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 251
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:51 pm
Full Name: Steve Long
Company Details: Montgomery County DOT _ MD
Company Position Title: Land Survey Supervisor
Country: United States
Skype Name: gsisman1
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Register 360 scan limit still 500?

Post by gsisman » Mon Jul 15, 2019 8:40 pm

winslowkr wrote:
Mon Jul 15, 2019 3:54 pm
1120
Wow, were there very few cross-links then?
We are doing a parking garage and Reg 360 has created so far about 2901 links on 681 setups
Working floor by floor

Post Reply

Return to “Leica Geosystems”