Maximum Leica Cyclone Project

Discuss all Leica Geosystems related issues here.
Post Reply
stuartbuckett
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2018 5:56 am
Full Name: Stuart Buckett
Company Details: Airscope
Company Position Title: Head of Terrestrial Scanning and Survey
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Maximum Leica Cyclone Project

Post by stuartbuckett »

So im wondering whats the maximum Size .IMP files people have created before, ive currently got one that's just over the 1TB with close to 1000 scans in it, Some RTC and Some P30.

Its now throwing up an Error saying the there is not enough space on the Drive im running it on......
yet it still has close to 2TB free.....

Anyone else have a similar issue?

Rikore
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 693
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 6:48 pm
Full Name: Bruce Yager
Company Details: Rikore Geomatics
Company Position Title: Department Head
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Maximum Leica Cyclone Project

Post by Rikore »

Cyclone defaults to max 1TB. You have to change the settings to allow for more. I have one just over 2TB now and works fine. The other issue is having enough space for the temp files. 1TB would require up to 2 to 3 times that space to process.

Luka
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 2:30 pm
Full Name: Luka Juras
Company Details: geo
Company Position Title: geo
Country: Croatia
Skype Name: \
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Maximum Leica Cyclone Project

Post by Luka »

Hi, i have the same problem it was everything oke until imp file went over 1 TB. I have 5.5 TB of free space but still i get that message for no space on disk. Where can I change that default for 1 TB, where is setting located to allow more.

Thanks in advance.

jamesworrell
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 639
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:45 pm
Full Name: James Worrell
Company Details: Bennett and Francis
Company Position Title: Director
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Maximum Leica Cyclone Project

Post by jamesworrell »

There is a chance you can split that project. We tend to run imp's in the order of 200 or so stations at a time (RTC mostly).

You can then aggregate them all up into a single cyclone job.

Create all your child databases, register the scans and select the registered scan world in each child imp, copy, paste BY REFERENCE - into the master imp - this creates merely a pointer to the child file - note it doesn't copy it - so if archiving - you need to archive all child jobs with it.

You create a final registration in the master job, select all child scanworlds .. register .. done.

Tend to find the file handling a little easier - 5 x 200GB files vs 1 x 1TB+ file. We also scan in "zones" to make this workflow carry from field to office. Zones are primarily organised by overlap - so grouping all overlapping scans - minimising overlap through choke points/corners of buildings etc - with control/targets at the boundaries of zones.

It may be more performant if able to parallel read across multiple db's potentially on different drives - but I haven't bothered to suss that out.

Luka
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 2:30 pm
Full Name: Luka Juras
Company Details: geo
Company Position Title: geo
Country: Croatia
Skype Name: \
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Maximum Leica Cyclone Project

Post by Luka »

Oke I will do that for the rest of the project but how can i now "save" my database that has alrdy over 1 TB and it is not usable anymore. I deleted from that database like 100 scans or so ... but imp size didnt changed. Why my imp file size is unchanged if I removed 100 scans from the database??

Thanks in advance.

Rikore
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 693
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 6:48 pm
Full Name: Bruce Yager
Company Details: Rikore Geomatics
Company Position Title: Department Head
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Maximum Leica Cyclone Project

Post by Rikore »

Once Cyclone gets to 1 terrabyte that is pretty much it. Deleting stuff does not change it. Change the settings so you can go to 2 to 3TB and transfer your files to the new project imp. Everything will work then.

Luka
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 2:30 pm
Full Name: Luka Juras
Company Details: geo
Company Position Title: geo
Country: Croatia
Skype Name: \
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Maximum Leica Cyclone Project

Post by Luka »

And only way to change that size from 1TB to 2TB is through .cfg file or is there some simple way to do that ?? :)

denbrown2007
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2016 6:53 am
Full Name: Denis Morozov
Company Details: Trimetari Consalting
Company Position Title: Engineer Surveyor
Country: Russia
Contact:

Re: Maximum Leica Cyclone Project

Post by denbrown2007 »

Luka wrote:
Mon Feb 10, 2020 1:15 pm
And only way to change that size from 1TB to 2TB is through .cfg file or is there some simple way to do that ?? :)
Editing .cfg file only. But that also doesn't always help me
Trimetari Consulting LLC
+79062500051
www.trimetari.com
[email protected]

Moc
I have made 50-60 posts
I have made 50-60 posts
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2017 9:33 am
Full Name: Matthias Sturmfels
Company Details: TPI Vermessungsgesellschaft mbH
Company Position Title: Head of 3D-Team
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Maximum Leica Cyclone Project

Post by Moc »

You can optimize and compact your database in the navigator. This will remove deleted scans from the database and the size should shrink. But it is a time intensive procedure and needs a lot of free disk space. In our experience databases that big can get corrupted and everything is lost. So better make a backup.
Safest way is to split up the database into smaller databases of a maximum 200 - 250 scans.

User avatar
Matt Young
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5141
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:03 pm
Full Name: Matt Young
Company Details: Baker Hicks
Company Position Title: CAD-BIM Lead
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: Maximum Leica Cyclone Project

Post by Matt Young »

Just my opinion, but I can't believe that people are creating 1Tb+ databases. There is no sense to it at all and it's asking for trouble.

I have a few databases that have gotten to around 100Gb+ and I think that is pushing it.

Why would you need all of that data in the first place? :roll:
If you don't see that there is nothing, then you are kidding yourself.

Post Reply

Return to “Leica Geosystems”