Leica RTC to Recap

Discuss all Leica Geosystems related issues here.
Post Reply
Bstallan
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 8:04 am
Full Name: Ben
Company Details: BES Geo
Company Position Title: Director
Country: UK

Leica RTC to Recap

Post by Bstallan » Tue Nov 06, 2018 8:56 am

Hi,

We are looking at buying a RTC and recently had a demo but we can not get the HDR images into Reacp.

We are currently using Faro scanners and have a client that request the scan data as a Recap project with photos in the 'bubble' views. We recently had a demo with the RTC and exported the data from Cyclone 360 as .PTG & .PTX but both formats come into Recap as a colored point cloud. What we want is the images (with the point cloud underlaid). Is this something that can be done?

I've attached a couple of screen shots:

Leica:
Leica.JPG
Faro:
Faro.JPG
Thanks,
Ben
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

jamesworrell
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:45 pm
Full Name: James Worrell
Company Details: Bennett and Francis
Company Position Title: Director
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Leica RTC to Recap

Post by jamesworrell » Tue Nov 06, 2018 10:15 am

Not sure if it is completely honoured - let me know - but if you export as E57, images might go with it .. PTG / PTX are points only .. but highly doubt it out of R360.

In Cyclone Core (as in not Register 360) - you can right-click at the Scanworld level and export E57 which can send images with point cloud .. not sure if Recap will respect them - never noticed that it did.

Then again - not sure how all this will play with the HDR imagery regardless.

There is somewhat limited value in Recap bubble views any more if you go with the LGS files and associated viewer - my 2c. Recap back in Revit et al - we usually create unified tiles anyway for performance so you end up wanting two files - a structured Recap file (for bubbles) and unified Recap for performance. If you are getting to that point - might as well do an LGS and unified Recap (we use FME Desktop to unify + tile from E57 -> unified Tiles -> Recap - painful). FME does have a Recap writer - but it seemed to want to go via LAS - figured we might as well short cut it.

Then again, I was somewhat disappointed with the Publisher Pro license requirement for LGS .. but if non-plug-in truviews turn up any time soon it might be mostly forgiven.

Also measurement tools could be improved ..

User avatar
topogeo
I have made 60-70 posts
I have made 60-70 posts
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri May 02, 2014 1:38 pm
Full Name: piercarlo roasio
Company Details: studio roasio
Company Position Title: titolare
Country: italy
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Leica RTC to Recap

Post by topogeo » Tue Nov 06, 2018 11:25 am

I have your same need.
Provide customers with a Recap project where they can see (like Realview) the IMAGES (photos) taken from the scanner.
It is true that the E57 format contains the images (photos) .. but the one created by Leica (Register360 or Cyclone) is NOT fully read by Recap.
What you can see the RECAP, today, from E57 created by Leica is what you have (cloud of colored points ..beautiful ..but only a colored cloud).
I do not know if the fault lies with Leica (who writes the E57) or RECAP (who reads them).
In addition, often images (colored cloud that are received in RECAP from an E57 created by Leica ... are very bad (see image).
Many users have raised the issue on the forum of Recap but .. Autodesk does not do anything to solve ..
To avoid this problem, you can export from Leica to PTG or PTX. The images that are obtained in Recap are always and only colored clouds (.. as you have seen ..).
It would be nice if Leica exported DIRECTLY in RCS-RCP format (but I think it will never do it ... it has to sell us its viewer (or better .. the Publisher Pro to create the lgs files ..).
Piercarlo
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Jamesrye
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 427
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 4:13 pm
Full Name: James Rye
Company Details: Merrett Survey Partnership
Company Position Title: Spatial Analyst

Re: Leica RTC to Recap

Post by Jamesrye » Tue Nov 06, 2018 12:09 pm

We have found that if we use the istar camera and a P40, the images almost always align perfectly and look great in RECAP. It's true that you have the 'black skies' issue in RECAP though. We would love to have the images with the point cloud underlaid, as it looks so nice for the client.

The majority of our clients want .rcp/.rcs and they specify it now in the tender documents.

Here is an extract from a recent tender document, specifying the deliverables:
Survey Outputs:
✓ Topographical Survey - DWG 3D CAD
Point cloud - RCS/RCP/LAS/XYZ/TXT (Combined processed Colour recap file including mirrorball / survey locations
✓ Drawings – AutoCAD / PDF
✓ Reports – PDF / MS Word
✓ Excel files - XLS/CSV file formats)
A clean up of the pointcloud will also be required to remove people and vehicles etc.]

User avatar
pburrows145
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1698
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:16 am
Full Name: Paul Burrows
Company Details: Leica Geosystems Europe
Company Position Title: Scanning Solutions Manager - Europe
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK

Re: Leica RTC to Recap

Post by pburrows145 » Tue Nov 06, 2018 12:14 pm

As I understand it, REG360 currently exports e57 without the images (will be fixed in next release I believe), Cyclone should export them.

You could try...

Importing the REG360 Project into Cyclone and exporting from there
Importing the RTC360 data into Cyclone (avoid REG360) and exporting from there

Or you could send the customer the LGS file with JetStream Viewer (for which you would need Cyclone PUBLISHER Pro to produce these). ;)

If they have CloudWorx they could read the LGS file too (bonus!). :D

User avatar
topogeo
I have made 60-70 posts
I have made 60-70 posts
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri May 02, 2014 1:38 pm
Full Name: piercarlo roasio
Company Details: studio roasio
Company Position Title: titolare
Country: italy
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Leica RTC to Recap

Post by topogeo » Tue Nov 06, 2018 12:46 pm

Importing the REG360 Project into Cyclone and exporting from there
Importing the RTC360 data into Cyclone (avoid REG360) and exporting from there
the problem of images from Leica to Recap is very important ...

could you not do this test? ;) :D
If we try, inexperienced users, the results can be unsatisfactory .. not for problems of software .. but because of our fault .. .. :oops:



Piercarlo

Bstallan
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 8:04 am
Full Name: Ben
Company Details: BES Geo
Company Position Title: Director
Country: UK

Re: Leica RTC to Recap

Post by Bstallan » Tue Nov 06, 2018 1:28 pm

Thanks for all the replies.

I didn't grab the RAW data from the demo but will request it now, run it through Cyclone and let you know what happens.

User avatar
pburrows145
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1698
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:16 am
Full Name: Paul Burrows
Company Details: Leica Geosystems Europe
Company Position Title: Scanning Solutions Manager - Europe
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK

Re: Leica RTC to Recap

Post by pburrows145 » Tue Nov 06, 2018 2:28 pm

topogeo wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 12:46 pm
Importing the REG360 Project into Cyclone and exporting from there
Importing the RTC360 data into Cyclone (avoid REG360) and exporting from there
the problem of images from Leica to Recap is very important ...

could you not do this test? ;) :D
If we try, inexperienced users, the results can be unsatisfactory .. not for problems of software .. but because of our fault .. .. :oops:



Piercarlo
I could test this for sure, but would rather use the customer data... mine always works perfectly, of course :D

User avatar
SCCS RTC
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 634
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 9:30 am
Full Name: Phil Marsh
Company Details: SCCS Survey Equipment Limited
Company Position Title: Reality Capture Manager
Country: UK
Skype Name: Phil.H.Marsh
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Barnsley, UK
Contact:

Re: Leica RTC to Recap

Post by SCCS RTC » Tue Nov 06, 2018 8:14 pm

Bstallan wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 1:28 pm
Thanks for all the replies.

I didn't grab the RAW data from the demo but will request it now, run it through Cyclone and let you know what happens.
Hi Ben,

Did you get a demo through us here at SCCS?

If so, I can get you the data and help you get this into RECAP.

Phil
SCCS Survey Equipment Limited
M: 07540 201383
E: phil.marsh@sccssurvey.co.uk
W: www.sccsurvey.co.uk
Image

pcmarko
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 8:22 pm
Full Name: Marco Costabello
Company Details: Dimensione Dinamica
Company Position Title: engineer
Country: italy
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Contact:

Re: Leica RTC to Recap

Post by pcmarko » Tue Nov 27, 2018 9:35 am

Hi All! has Leica solved the problem of exporting images in RECAP?

Post Reply

Return to “Leica Geosystems”