Leica RTC360 Reality Capture Solution

Discuss all Leica Geosystems related issues here.
Post Reply
Jamesrye
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 411
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 4:13 pm
Full Name: James Rye
Company Details: Merrett Survey Partnership
Company Position Title: Spatial Analyst

Re: Leica RTC360 Reality Capture Solution

Post by Jamesrye » Fri Jun 15, 2018 11:59 am

dhirota wrote:
Thu Jun 14, 2018 4:36 am
For those that might be interested, the RTC360 brochure with most of the specifications.



Image



Image

I am a bit confused by one of the figures quoted in the specification. It state that the tilt sensor is IMU based with an accuracy of 3 minutes for any tilt. If that is true then 3 minutes over 20 meters equates to 17mm. It surely cant be right that the data could be off-level by that much?

User avatar
pburrows145
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1560
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:16 am
Full Name: Paul Burrows
Company Details: Leica Geosystems UK Limited
Company Position Title: EMEA Business Manager HDS
Country: UK
Skype Name: pburrows145
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK

Re: Leica RTC360 Reality Capture Solution

Post by pburrows145 » Fri Jun 15, 2018 2:43 pm

Moc wrote:
Fri Jun 15, 2018 10:45 am
Nice feature.
I guess for big scansites which need several days of scanning, you need to do the registration manually to merge each day of scanning. Or is there a way to orientate the scanner after it was turned off?
Well it does have GNSS, so for external jobs you could create a new Scan Job, and the easily merge the data in REG360 (as it will roughly positioned). Otherwise, you will likely have 2 (or more bundles) so you can just visually align them in REG360 and let cloud to cloud take over... OR, you might have used targets... the choice is yours!

Or, perhaps you're working in the same project on day 2 on the USB stick, in which case, just continue scanning and add a manual link between the 2 transition scans using Cyclone FIELD 360.

Hope that makes sense...

User avatar
blazaj
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 451
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 1:07 pm
Full Name: Jiri Blazek
Company Details: BW precision systems sro
Company Position Title: Managing Director
Country: Czech Republic
Linkedin Profile: No
Contact:

Re: Leica RTC360 Reality Capture Solution

Post by blazaj » Fri Jun 15, 2018 3:12 pm

Interesting! Any idea what's the maximum number of scans Cyclone Field handles?

dhirota
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 492
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 11:18 pm
Full Name: Dennis Hirota
Company Details: Sam O. Hirota Inc.
Company Position Title: President
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Hawaii, USA

Re: Leica RTC360 Reality Capture Solution

Post by dhirota » Sat Jun 16, 2018 2:11 am

jcoco3 wrote:
Thu Jun 14, 2018 7:05 pm
That's cool, thanks for confirming some of my assumption. I think knowing if it works in the dark is a big concern, but unless the cameras are night vision then I guess that is where the feature is a bit handicapped. I would not normally care, but we do a inordinate amount of scans in the dark...more than we really like.
According the Swiss expert in the VIP show room, it will not work in COMPLETE DARKNESS (whatever that means), so be sure to test it out if that is a concern.
Dennis Hirota, PhD, PE, LPLS
dennishirota@gmail.com

csiomaha
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 5:14 am
Full Name: William Henningsen
Company Details: Omaha Police Crime Laboratory
Company Position Title: Criminalist
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Leica RTC360 Reality Capture Solution

Post by csiomaha » Sat Jun 16, 2018 7:24 pm

Several Leica sources confirmed that if you can personally see well enough to navigate a space, the scanner should do the same and keep VIS lock.

User avatar
Phill
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 580
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 7:19 am
Full Name: Phillip Nixon
Company Details: SKM
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: Australia
Location: Sydney

Re: Leica RTC360 Reality Capture Solution

Post by Phill » Sat Jun 16, 2018 11:31 pm

JamesRye

I wouldn't worry about that 3'. Surely cloud to cloud will correct that dislevellment… wont if? WONT IT?
Cloud to Cloud fixes everything. (Walks away shaking head)

Jamesrye
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 411
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 4:13 pm
Full Name: James Rye
Company Details: Merrett Survey Partnership
Company Position Title: Spatial Analyst

Re: Leica RTC360 Reality Capture Solution

Post by Jamesrye » Mon Jun 18, 2018 8:57 am

Phill wrote:
Sat Jun 16, 2018 11:31 pm
JamesRye

I wouldn't worry about that 3'. Surely cloud to cloud will correct that dislevellment… wont if? WONT IT?
Cloud to Cloud fixes everything. (Walks away shaking head)
I'm sold on this device, I really thinks its as big a step as going from a Scanstation2 to a C10 in terms of productivity on site. My concern is that the at 3', the data is essentially un-levelled. If you run cloud to cloud using visual alignment at the moment in Cyclone, I thought that the program assumes the data is level. If it isn't level, you have to manually pick three points in each scan in order to use cloud to cloud. The problem is that whilst the histogram looks good with visual alignment on unlevelled data, the cloud to cloud result is poor. I'm wondering if the cloud alignment program has been revised for Cyclone so that it can tilt the data as well - this would address the issue.

I know this device is pitched somewhere between a BLK360 and a P40, but users are going to get in a mess unless they know to use targets to join scans and to shoot in some targets with a total station in order to correctly orientate their scans.

I still think the 3' is either a typo, or I've misunderstood something. 3 minutes over 20 meters equates to 17mm. If it is 3', then maybe it would be better for surveyors to be able to level the instrument on the tribrach, scan and then turn it back on when moving to the next setup? I'd take the slight hit in productivity to be able to do this. Or better still on import to Cyclone, have an option to say that each scan was setup level using a tribrach and to ignore the tilt reading.

travissachs
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 2:44 pm
Full Name: Travis Sachs
Company Details: High Definition 3D Laser Scanning
Company Position Title: Chief Operating Officer
Country: Canada
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Leica RTC360 Reality Capture Solution

Post by travissachs » Mon Jun 18, 2018 11:56 am

130 Meters

r_oliveira
I have made 50-60 posts
I have made 50-60 posts
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 9:11 am
Full Name: Ricardo Oliveira
Company Details: Murphy Surveys Ltd
Company Position Title: Head of Digital Engineering
Country: Ireland

Re: Leica RTC360 Reality Capture Solution

Post by r_oliveira » Fri Jun 22, 2018 2:25 pm

Sample datasets?

User avatar
Phil Marsh
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2128
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 2:28 pm
Full Name: Phil Marsh
Company Details: Laser Scanning Forum Ltd
Company Position Title: Technical Director
Country: UK
Skype Name: phil.h.marsh
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Barnsley, UK
Contact:

Re: Leica RTC360 Reality Capture Solution

Post by Phil Marsh » Fri Jun 22, 2018 4:17 pm

r_oliveira wrote:
Fri Jun 22, 2018 2:25 pm
Sample datasets?
Hi Ricdardo,

I can pm you a link to some sample data on our FTP server if this helps?

Post Reply

Return to “Leica Geosystems”