Leica Cyclone REGISTER 360

Discuss all Leica Geosystems related issues here.
Post Reply
steves01x
Forum Supporter
Forum Supporter
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 3:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Smith
Company Details: Scanning
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: Scotland
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Leica Cyclone REGISTER 360

Post by steves01x » Wed Oct 18, 2017 9:26 am

I take it there is no way to import a partial project in Register 360?

User avatar
JLarson
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 4:57 pm
Full Name: Jason Larson
Company Details: NAIK Consulting Group
Company Position Title: HDS Manager
Country: US
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: New York City

Re: Leica Cyclone REGISTER 360

Post by JLarson » Wed Oct 18, 2017 9:06 pm

I've downloaded and installed. I tried importing a P20 project where we used our typical "traversing" method with setup, and targets at BS and FS. 360 didn't seem to know how to deal with this. There is a note in the release notes on targets, that a minimum of three are needed. So question is: does 360 even support our normal workflow? Do we need to go to a free station/resection type method? To me, this would defeat one of the strengths of Leica scanners, treating them like traditional survey instruments. With free station method i would need to setup six targets vs. two for traversing. This seems like a big step backwards in productivity to me.
Jason Larson, PLS
NAIK Consulting Group
New York, NY

User avatar
mmarsault
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 2:33 pm
Full Name: Matthieu Marsault
Company Details: Murphy Surveys Ltd.
Company Position Title: Laser Scanning Manager
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No
Location: London, UK

Re: Leica Cyclone REGISTER 360

Post by mmarsault » Thu Oct 19, 2017 10:38 am

Note it doesnt work if your licence server is a Virtual Machine.....

User avatar
stevenramsey
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1605
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 9:22 pm
Full Name: Steven Ramsey
Company Details: Leica Geosystems
Company Position Title: Technical Specialist Scanning EMEA
Country: UK
Skype Name: steven.ramsey
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Leica Cyclone REGISTER 360

Post by stevenramsey » Thu Oct 19, 2017 10:57 am

steves01x wrote:
Wed Oct 18, 2017 9:26 am
I take it there is no way to import a partial project in Register 360?
When you drag and drop or import the project file partial import is done by just de checking the tiks next to the scans you don't want.
Steven Ramsey

Home steven.ramsey@laserscanningforum.com
Work steven.ramsey@leica-geosystems.com
Mobile +44 7766 310 915

User avatar
stevenramsey
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1605
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 9:22 pm
Full Name: Steven Ramsey
Company Details: Leica Geosystems
Company Position Title: Technical Specialist Scanning EMEA
Country: UK
Skype Name: steven.ramsey
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Leica Cyclone REGISTER 360

Post by stevenramsey » Thu Oct 19, 2017 10:59 am

JLarson wrote:
Wed Oct 18, 2017 9:06 pm
I've downloaded and installed. I tried importing a P20 project where we used our typical "traversing" method with setup, and targets at BS and FS. 360 didn't seem to know how to deal with this. There is a note in the release notes on targets, that a minimum of three are needed. So question is: does 360 even support our normal workflow? Do we need to go to a free station/resection type method? To me, this would defeat one of the strengths of Leica scanners, treating them like traditional survey instruments. With free station method i would need to setup six targets vs. two for traversing. This seems like a big step backwards in productivity to me.
Reg360 doesn't support survey workflows. C2C and free station resections (3 targets)
Steven Ramsey

Home steven.ramsey@laserscanningforum.com
Work steven.ramsey@leica-geosystems.com
Mobile +44 7766 310 915

User avatar
Jason Warren
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2977
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 9:21 am
Full Name: Jason Warren
Company Details: Laser Scanning Forum Ltd
Company Position Title: Co-Founder
Country: UK
Skype Name: jason_warren
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Retford, UK
Contact:

Re: Leica Cyclone REGISTER 360

Post by Jason Warren » Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:33 pm

stevenramsey wrote:
Thu Oct 19, 2017 10:59 am
JLarson wrote:
Wed Oct 18, 2017 9:06 pm
I've downloaded and installed. I tried importing a P20 project where we used our typical "traversing" method with setup, and targets at BS and FS. 360 didn't seem to know how to deal with this. There is a note in the release notes on targets, that a minimum of three are needed. So question is: does 360 even support our normal workflow? Do we need to go to a free station/resection type method? To me, this would defeat one of the strengths of Leica scanners, treating them like traditional survey instruments. With free station method i would need to setup six targets vs. two for traversing. This seems like a big step backwards in productivity to me.
Reg360 doesn't support survey workflows, C2C and free station resections (3 targets)
Will it support survey workflows in the near future, or is REGISTER 360 for the BLK360 users, and what follows?
Jason Warren

#ThePowerofLSF

tomii7
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 156
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:38 am
Full Name: Tomasz Gerlich
Company Details: OutPut Precision Ltd
Company Position Title: Owner - 3D Laser Scanning Specialist
Country: PL UK International
Skype Name: tomek.gerlich
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Everywhere
Contact:

Re: Leica Cyclone REGISTER 360

Post by tomii7 » Thu Oct 19, 2017 3:32 pm

Jason Warren wrote:
Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:33 pm
Reg360 doesn't support survey workflows, C2C and free station resections (3 targets)
Will it support survey workflows in the near future, or is REGISTER 360 for the BLK360 users, and what follows?
Honestly, that's a good question... Personally, I think in the near future (another update of Register360) it might be possible :D
---
Best Regards,
Tomasz Gerlich

contact emails:
tomasz.gerlich[at]outputprecision.com tomaszgerlich[at]gmail.com
+44 7756613300

www.outputprecision.com
OutPut Precision Ltd, Manchester, UK

User avatar
JLarson
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 4:57 pm
Full Name: Jason Larson
Company Details: NAIK Consulting Group
Company Position Title: HDS Manager
Country: US
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: New York City

Re: Leica Cyclone REGISTER 360

Post by JLarson » Thu Oct 19, 2017 5:09 pm

stevenramsey wrote:
Thu Oct 19, 2017 10:59 am

Reg360 doesn't support survey workflows, C2C and free station resections (3 targets)
Hmmm... That's disappointing.

As others have asked, is this something we can expect to see in the future, or is this the direction forward?
Jason Larson, PLS
NAIK Consulting Group
New York, NY

kendecamp
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 3:31 am
Full Name: Ken DeCamp
Company Details: Surveyor
Company Position Title: PLS
Country: USA

Re: Leica Cyclone REGISTER 360

Post by kendecamp » Thu Oct 19, 2017 10:32 pm

I went to myworld last night...wouldn't successfully download.

Went there today and it's not even there to download. What is up?

User avatar
topogeo
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri May 02, 2014 1:38 pm
Full Name: piercarlo roasio
Company Details: studio roasio
Company Position Title: titolare
Country: italy
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Leica Cyclone REGISTER 360

Post by topogeo » Fri Oct 20, 2017 9:10 am

very well for the ability to make Register 360's dowload.
News on the new sign for the BLK360?
we are waiting for the HDR with impatience :-)
and Leica's app to pilot / set up the BLK360?
I can not wait to be able to do high quality scans without having to carry the IPAD Pro (... the "one - button" workflow is what I like the most .. now you can ' do only with medium resolution)

Piercarlo

Post Reply

Return to “Leica Geosystems”