Scan Registration in Scene vs Recap

3DVEM, Leica Cyclone Register 360, FARO Scene, LFM Suite, Autodesk ReCAP, Riegl RiScan Pro, Trimble RealWorks, Etc.
Carol9274
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Full Name: Carol Cortez
Company Details: UPS
Company Position Title: Mechanical Designer
Linkedin Profile: No

Scan Registration in Scene vs Recap

Post by Carol9274 »

Hi All,

I'm new to the laser scanning game and our company will be purchasing a Faro s350 soon. I was wondering if anyone is willing to give me a pros and cons breakdown of the two softwares. Thank you for any information you may be able to provide.

Thanks,

Carol
bdawood
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Full Name: Bashar Dawood
Company Details: Canada West Drafting Inc.
Company Position Title: Owner
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Scan Registration in Scene vs Recap

Post by bdawood »

Recap is good for small project. With recap you have no control on how the project get registered. I also had lots of issues with the inclination of the scans, at the end of the day you get what you paid for. I will not use it myself. On the other hand, scene had and still getting lots of improvements. Easy to use and I believe is worth every penny, and is made to support the scanner you are buying. Yes it has glitches, but so the other softwares. If you are buying a faro scanner then it is better to stick with the software that comes with it.
Felix_the_Cat
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Full Name: Felix
Company Details: Lockheed Martin
Company Position Title: Senior Member Engineering Staff

Re: Scan Registration in Scene vs Recap

Post by Felix_the_Cat »

If you are scanning casually recap is ok

It is the iPhone or Mac of the scanning world

Scene is a fantastic package but the learning curve is pretty steep. You can’t do that much with recap so it is pretty easy to learn.