SX10 too Cyclone

Is your company expanding or simply on the look out for experinced laser scanner users then you can try to recruit staff here.
Post Reply
kyle.hod
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 2:15 pm
Full Name: Kyle Hodgson
Company Details: 360ri LTD Reality In
Company Position Title: BIM Survey Manager
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes

SX10 too Cyclone

Post by kyle.hod » Tue Aug 14, 2018 7:18 pm

Hey everybody and thanks in advance.

What’s the best way to get data from the SX10 with colour, into cyclone.

Preprocessing in TBC seems to take a long time!

Wdigman - Europe
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2018 7:18 am
Full Name: Warren Digman
Company Details: Crystal Prism Consulting
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: Latvia - USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: SX10 too Cyclone

Post by Wdigman - Europe » Wed Aug 15, 2018 6:29 am

Is there a way to export each scan to E57 format? Cyclone will import E57 files with color data.

User avatar
smacl
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 174
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 5:12 pm
Full Name: Shane MacLaughlin
Company Details: Atlas Computers Ltd
Company Position Title: Managing Director
Country: Ireland
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Re: SX10 too Cyclone

Post by smacl » Wed Aug 15, 2018 9:03 am

We've had colour SX10 data given to us in LAS format, exported from TBC. According to the documentation, TBC supports E57 as well, which would probably be a better option as it is broken down into setups internally which would make re-registration possible. E57 also incorporates images as well which LAS doesn't.

tomii7
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:38 am
Full Name: Tomasz Gerlich
Company Details: OutPut Precision Ltd
Company Position Title: Owner - 3D Laser Scanning Specialist
Country: PL UK International
Skype Name: tomek.gerlich
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Everywhere
Contact:

Re: SX10 too Cyclone

Post by tomii7 » Wed Aug 15, 2018 3:12 pm

smacl wrote:
Wed Aug 15, 2018 9:03 am
We've had colour SX10 data given to us in LAS format, exported from TBC. According to the documentation, TBC supports E57 as well, which would probably be a better option as it is broken down into setups internally which would make re-registration possible. E57 also incorporates images as well which LAS doesn't.
Yes, Shane has got right but it might possible to use another solution which is Leica Cyclone importer.

Below is a datasheet:
https://hds.leica-geosystems.com/downlo ... _DS_us.pdf

E57 is good because you have conversion file with the information: e.g. 'matrix of registration', colored scans, and some information.

Best,
TG
-----
Best Regards,
Tomasz Gerlich

tomasz.gerlich[at]outputprecision.com tomaszgerlich[at]gmail.com
+44 7756613300

www.outputprecision.com - Reality Capture
www.realitycapture3d.com - Matterport
www.tomgerlich.com

OutPut Precision Ltd, Manchester, UK

kyle.hod
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 2:15 pm
Full Name: Kyle Hodgson
Company Details: 360ri LTD Reality In
Company Position Title: BIM Survey Manager
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: SX10 too Cyclone

Post by kyle.hod » Wed Aug 15, 2018 3:50 pm

Thanks for the comments guys, i've been pre-processing in TBC then exporting the e57, just checking I was doing it the best way and that there wasn't a quicker way, usually more than one way to skin a cat!!

mgillis9
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2018 7:58 pm
Full Name: Mike Gillis
Company Details: Kiewit
Company Position Title: Survey foreman
Country: Canada

Re: SX10 too Cyclone

Post by mgillis9 » Wed Aug 15, 2018 9:19 pm

When I export an e57 file out of TBC it just comes out as a single point cloud and doesn't retain the individual clouds. Has anyone had success with keeping the clouds individual when exporting an e57?

User avatar
Felix_the_Cat
Forum Supporter
Forum Supporter
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2016 5:44 pm
Full Name: Felix
Company Details: Lockheed Martin
Company Position Title: Senior Member Engineering Staff
Country: USA

Re: SX10 too Cyclone

Post by Felix_the_Cat » Sun Aug 19, 2018 12:17 pm

Ptx is your friend

Try it


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Post Reply

Return to “Recruitment”