Top 5 features for pointclouds

Euclideon GEOVERSE, SOLIBRI Model Checker, BCF, ScanManager, GreenSpider, GeomaticsCUBE.
scankukai
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Full Name: Scan ku kaï
Company Details: Scankukai
Company Position Title: CEO
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Top 5 features for pointclouds

Post by scankukai »

Hi Laser Scanning community,

In order to gather new ideas for further development (we already coded plugins for Scene), I'd like to start a small survey.

What would be the top 5 features you'd like to have once your scans are registered?

Any kind, even very creative!
steves01x
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Full Name: Steve Smith
Company Details: Scanning
Company Position Title: Surveyor

Re: Top 5 features for pointclouds

Post by steves01x »

Cyclone - batch export of individual scans with each one saved as the original ScanWorld name. :)

**as i have zero knowledge of Python i am not sure if this can be done via a script! **
Matt Young
Honorary Member
Honorary Member
Full Name: Matt Young
Company Details: Baker Hicks
Company Position Title: CAD-BIM Lead
Linkedin Profile: No

Post by Matt Young »

Ideal would be:

1. Fast loading of scans into an easy to use viewer.
2. Smallest file size format possible for the data.
3. Something with easy modelling capabilities / that translates easily to all major BIM formats.
4. Auto 3D modelling features.
5. Auto Topographical line work extraction in 3D with levels and layering functionality / scan data classification.

This must all come at a reasonable cost with no silly pricing models.
If you don't see that there is nothing, then you are kidding yourself.
scankukai
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member

Post by scankukai »

@Steve: well, building plugins for Cyclone is for now out of our scope, but I keep the idea.

@Matt: we also pointed out most of your points.