Maya and Pointclouds

3D Studio MAX, 3D Coat, Lightwave, ZBrush, VRMesh, TopoGun, Blender, Rhino, Trimble Sketchup Etc.
adriantaylor09
I have made 60-70 posts
I have made 60-70 posts
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 8:57 pm
Full Name: Adrian Taylor
Company Details: Revisia Ltd
Company Position Title: Industrial 3D Specialist
Country: New Zealand
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Maya and Pointclouds

Post by adriantaylor09 » Fri Jul 24, 2015 3:22 am

If you can use 3DS Max 2015 instead of Maya, then you can use Autodesk Recap to create a .rcp file from your Faro scans, or any other scan for that matter. You can then import the rcp file straight into max. The free version of recap will work perfectly.. so no need for plugins unless you need the additional functionality they provide

Here's a screenshot of a pointcloud I used recenty (captured from our drone, but workflow from laser scanner is very similar):
recap image.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Matt Young
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3830
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:03 pm
Full Name: Matt Young
Company Details: Baker Hicks
Company Position Title: CAD-BIM Lead
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Maya and Pointclouds

Post by Matt Young » Fri Jul 24, 2015 11:49 am

Yep, max is a great piece of software, used it for years. I haven't gotten past version 2014 yet (some big bugs in there with texture mapping) but having the ability to bring in point clouds is very useful.
If you want to make something simple, then take one thing away that still allows you to do the job. Don't add two more things, and say they both make it easier.

Haralds
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 11:45 am
Full Name: Esther Eriksson
Company Details: The Royal Institute of Art in Stockholm
Company Position Title: Head of 3DLab
Country: Sverige

Re: Maya and Pointclouds

Post by Haralds » Mon Apr 17, 2017 8:21 pm

Hi!
The last post on this thread was 2015.
Is there a new fresh workflow for Maya, regarding importing pointclouds, been developed?
Please say yes :)

I have this project where I want to animate the pointcloud version of a big Faro Scan scene.
I have a mesh version but would like to bring in the pointcloud to Maya.
If there, still, is no good alternative for Maya then I will export to .rcp and work in Max.

One half solution though, that I have found, is to import a mesh of the pointcloud and convert it to nparticles in Maya.
The problem there was that I did not find a way to get the color/texture from the mesh on the nparticle version.
Otherwise great.

jedfrechette
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 846
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 7:51 pm
Full Name: Jed Frechette
Company Details: Lidar Guys
Company Position Title: CEO and Lidar Supervisor
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Contact:

Re: Maya and Pointclouds

Post by jedfrechette » Wed Apr 19, 2017 5:49 pm

I was recently looking in to this for a client who wanted the same thing. I was not able to find any good workflow in Maya 2017 that did not require plugins, which they were not able to use. I'm not an expert on Maya, and especially not nparticles, so somebody might have an elegant solution, but everyone who I know that is using lidar data inside of Maya is using either a plugin or custom in-house tools. If plugins are an option there are a few that you could look at, but I'd probably start with Krakatoa.

Personally, I would just skip Maya and Max and use Houdini. ;)
Jed

al1235783
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2017 3:55 am
Full Name: Phil
Company Details: Individual
Company Position Title: Individual
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Maya and Pointclouds

Post by al1235783 » Thu May 03, 2018 4:17 am


Post Reply

Return to “Modeling Software”