Revit and Cloudworx

3D Studio MAX, 3D Coat, Lightwave, ZBrush, VRMesh, TopoGun, Blender, Rhino, Trimble Sketchup Etc.
Post Reply
Entropia
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 4:17 pm
Full Name: Efstratios Vasilakos
Company Details: Geo-Info Ltd
Company Position Title: Survey Manager
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Revit and Cloudworx

Post by Entropia » Mon Nov 20, 2017 9:46 am

Hi all,

I'm trying to model steelwork for canopies that I have scanned. Each canopy is about 150m long and the steelwork shapes are repeating themselves. I'm importing the modelspace in Revit and trying to model the steel via Cloudworx. The problem is that the steelwork is not a typical beam so I can't use the libraries to automatically do that.
I have attached one picture of the modelspace showing what I have to model and an actual picture of the steelwork. I have actuall to model everything to the right of the blue line.

Please let me know if there is a way to do this.
Steelwork.jpg
Modelspace.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Matt Young
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3792
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:03 pm
Full Name: Matt Young
Company Details: Baker Hicks
Company Position Title: CAD-BIM Lead
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Revit and Cloudworx

Post by Matt Young » Tue Nov 21, 2017 7:39 am

Yes, you won't find 100 year old steel work in the libraries ;) I would suggest creating your own libraries or modelling in place under the correct category.
Arya Stark - Lots of people name their swords.
The Hound - Lots of c----s.

Hobbitfoot
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:07 am
Full Name: Michael Howard
Company Details: Taratest
Company Position Title: Technician
Country: Finland
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Revit and Cloudworx

Post by Hobbitfoot » Tue Apr 03, 2018 5:40 am

Sadly, you'll have to create your own. I had the same issue with a 50+ year old building. Standard sizes just didn't exist.

User avatar
caddrafting2013
I have made 90-100 posts
I have made 90-100 posts
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2018 10:20 am
Full Name: Adam
Company Details: Scan to revit
Company Position Title: Revit modeller
Country: Australia

Re: Revit and Cloudworx

Post by caddrafting2013 » Fri Jun 29, 2018 9:51 am

Very easy. Just create your own family in Revit.

I did a 100 year old Truss layout a few months back and it’s the easiest way to just create all your own custom families.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mrk
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2018 11:25 pm
Full Name: Mark Lane
Company Details: Convert3D
Company Position Title: BIM guy
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Revit and Cloudworx

Post by Mrk » Fri Jun 29, 2018 12:28 pm

Looks like most of it is made from back-to-back sandwiched angles and flat bar - I'd edit the stock families in Revit.
Many roofs of this vinatage are fabricated this way.

Post Reply

Return to “Modeling Software”