pipe modelling software

3D Studio MAX, 3D Coat, Lightwave, ZBrush, VRMesh, TopoGun, Blender, Rhino, Trimble Sketchup Etc.
Post Reply
MalteHC
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 11:19 am
Full Name: Malte Holm
Company Details: TLS
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: Norway
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 1 time

pipe modelling software

Post by MalteHC »

Hi All

I am from time to time modelling pipes and such.
It has been done in cyclone modeller, but it starts to seem a little bit oldfashioned and it isnt so easy, to deliver models to our customers, foing all have to be converted from COE.
I have seen, that some are starting to use AutoCAD Cevil, but i was wondering if there is any other softwares, that people are using.
Which one is the market leader?
Leandre Robitaille
Forum Supporter
Forum Supporter
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 1:53 am
Full Name: Leandre Robitaille
Company Details: Cima+
Company Position Title: Civil Technician
Country: Canada
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 26 times

Re: pipe modelling software

Post by Leandre Robitaille »

For quick extractions use edgewise
For ISO drawings/modelling use faro as built plugin for plant 3d
boxel0
I have made 100> posts
I have made 100> posts
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 3:45 pm
Full Name: Lewis Boxer
Company Details: Advanced 3D Laser Solutions Ltd
Company Position Title: Technical Director
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Essex, UK
Contact:

Re: pipe modelling software

Post by boxel0 »

Autodesk Plant 3D has built in functionality to help its not automated but it allows you to focus on one pipe at a time
Lewis Boxer
Advanced 3D Laser Solutions Ltd
Technical Director
e: [email protected]
w: www.lasersurveying.com
MalteHC
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 11:19 am
Full Name: Malte Holm
Company Details: TLS
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: Norway
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: pipe modelling software

Post by MalteHC »

boxel0 wrote: Mon Feb 15, 2021 8:22 pm Autodesk Plant 3D has built in functionality to help its not automated but it allows you to focus on one pipe at a time
That is pretty much, how i am used to do it. I will give it a shot!
Jacob
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2019 10:36 am
Full Name: Jakub Bies
Company Details: Scanning
Company Position Title: Technican
Country: Poland
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: pipe modelling software

Post by Jacob »

Hello,

I have worked with EdgeWise trial and I can admit it is useful for quick pipe extraction. This is a big advantage.

Also, an advantage is so that there is a minimum difference between Point Cloud and EdgeWise extracted pipe. Accuracy depends mainly on scan resolution/quality and coverage area (especially coverage area is an important factor for extraction).

There is a significant time saving by using EdgeWise.

Disadvantages I have faced were working with insulated pipes. Because surface of the material for insulation is not,,regular”, extraction of this kind of pipes take time.

Also, I faced a problem with creating tees connection. Where two tees connections are close to each other, then it is possible to create only one.

Very important point is compatibility with other software. In EdgeWise you can define standard dimension for pipes/ valves etc. Software is very functional when you can bring intelligence information to other software.

Hope, that I help a little bit with pipe modelling software. I would like to ask if you know of any software similar to EdgeWise? Maybe you have guys some experience with other software? :)
melshy
I have made 100> posts
I have made 100> posts
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:48 pm
Full Name: Duy Nguyen
Company Details: Baezeni VietNam
Company Position Title: Baezeni VietNam
Country: Vietnam
Skype Name: duy_bz
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: pipe modelling software

Post by melshy »

Use faro asbuilt autocad with plant3D, if you need model by revit you can convert from autocad to Revit
Jacob
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2019 10:36 am
Full Name: Jakub Bies
Company Details: Scanning
Company Position Title: Technican
Country: Poland
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: pipe modelling software

Post by Jacob »

melshy wrote: Tue Feb 16, 2021 2:20 pm Use faro asbuilt autocad with plant3D, if you need model by revit you can convert from autocad to Revit
Thank you for your post. But what if I do not use AutoCad plant3D as a basic software for modelling?
Post Reply

Return to “Modeling Software”