Faro Users - What am I looking at?

Faro FOCUS S350, S150, S70, M70, X30, X130, X130HDR, X330, X330HDR. Leica RTC360, C10, P15, P20, P30, P40, P50, BLK360, HDS6*00, HDS7000,HDS8800, HDS8400. Riegl VZ6000, VZ4000, VZ2000, VZ1000 & VZ400i. Topcon GTL-1000, GLS2200, GLS1500. Trimble X7, X9, X12, SX12, SX10, TX8, TX6, S7 & S9. Z+F IMAGER 5016, 5010X, 5010C, 5006H, 5006EX & PROFILER 9012
richard_m
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Full Name: Richard Merrin
Company Details: Fugro
Company Position Title: Data Processor _ Project Engineer
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Faro Users - What am I looking at?

Post by richard_m »

I have little Faro knowledge, so I'm looking for advice from those who do..

I'm repeating a reasonably sized project (+/- 1500scans) recently undertaken by a rival. Long story short - their results are, ahem, not ideal (assuming they had our spec..). Looking at their data I understand why our Client is spending the money to do the project again but what I do not have a grip on is the workflow of our rival, need some help figuring this out.

Their scans are obviously Faro, they have registered relatively low res scans together upto 50m apart and NOT used targets. What they have used is a Total Station but somehow they appear to have used it to position the scanner itself - not its targets. I think this because each scan has a huge shadow under it, not just the circle under the tripod caused by the skirt angle of the scanner but also some form of big bracket sticking out the side. In some scans I can see this bracket sits on a tripod and the scanner sits on the bracket at one end (offset from the centre of the tripod) and maybe there's a prism on a tribrach the other end of the bracket. Does anyone have any information on what this bracket thingy is and the workflow to use it?
faro eg 1.jpg