P20-Spheres

Trimble SX10, Leica BLK360, C5, C10, P15, P16, P20, P30, P40, P50, HDS8800, HDS8400, Riegl VZ6000, VZ4000, VZ2000, VZ1000 & VZ400i, Topcon GLS2000S, GLS1500, etc
Post Reply
dguise
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 6:41 pm
Full Name: David Guise
Company Details: Lsc Design Inc
Company Position Title: Site Tech
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No

P20-Spheres

Post by dguise » Wed Jan 21, 2015 1:53 pm

Has anyone used 3" or smaller sphere's for reference targets in scans. if so at what distance and what were the results. Looking at mounting on the face of a building for scans at 6 month intervals.

User avatar
Matt Young
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3884
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:03 pm
Full Name: Matt Young
Company Details: Baker Hicks
Company Position Title: CAD-BIM Lead
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: P20-Spheres

Post by Matt Young » Wed Jan 21, 2015 2:56 pm

Welcome to the Forum David :D

I'm not sure if it's still the same but you used to be able to set the sphere size in Cyclone. How that applies on the scanner itself... I'm not sure. I used to use different sized spheres back in the days of the Cyrax 2500 and HDS3000.
If you don't see that there is nothing, then you are kidding yourself.

cpw006
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 289
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 3:51 am
Full Name: Chris Widmer
Company Details: LAS
Company Position Title: 3D Scanning Manager
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Has thanked: 3 times

Re: P20-Spheres

Post by cpw006 » Wed Jan 21, 2015 3:03 pm

Matt Young wrote:Welcome to the Forum David :D

I'm not sure if it's still the same but you used to be able to set the sphere size in Cyclone. How that applies on the scanner itself... I'm not sure. I used to use different sized spheres back in the days of the Cyrax 2500 and HDS3000.
Under Edit Preferences and the Scan tab there is a setting to set the size of the Sphere Target Diameter. But like you said, not sure how this works with the scanner. Worst case you could do a targeted scan on the sphere, making sure that you scan dense enough to then manually place the sphere target under Create Object, fit to cloud, sphere target with the preferences set to the size sphere you are using.

User avatar
Matt Young
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3884
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:03 pm
Full Name: Matt Young
Company Details: Baker Hicks
Company Position Title: CAD-BIM Lead
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: P20-Spheres

Post by Matt Young » Wed Jan 21, 2015 3:38 pm

Thinking back through the mists of time... I think I actually did have to manually fit a target to each sphere. It's all coming back to me.

As for doing it directly on the scanner, maybe not...
If you don't see that there is nothing, then you are kidding yourself.

tbwester
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 892
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 1:49 pm
Full Name: Thad Wester
Company Details: WeWork
Company Position Title: Head of Reality Capture
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: SC/NYC
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: P20-Spheres

Post by tbwester » Wed Jan 21, 2015 3:43 pm

I don't see why it wouldn't work. I would scan them at high res and add spheres in later.

With them being so small, I wouldn't scan them from too far away. Keep them to within 45-60 feet or so probably.

Oxbow
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 259
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 10:07 pm
Full Name: Eric Bergholz
Company Details: Laserscanning Europe
Company Position Title: CEO
Country: Germany
Skype Name: eboxbow
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: P20-Spheres

Post by Oxbow » Thu Jan 22, 2015 12:55 pm

Dear All,

we can generate small spheres (90 mm) or you use our accurate "3D precision measuring point disk"
to place the spheres on the building.
precision_disk.jpg
http://shop.laserscanning-europe.com/3D ... point-disk

US customer can order this stuff from Laserscanning America Team.

..Eric
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post Reply

Return to “Pulse Based Scanners”