Controling the P20 with laptop/cyclone scan?

Trimble SX10, Leica BLK360, C5, C10, P15, P16, P20, P30, P40, P50, HDS8800, HDS8400, Riegl VZ6000, VZ4000, VZ2000, VZ1000 & VZ400i, Topcon GLS2000S, GLS1500, etc
Post Reply
Scan-Ninja
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 244
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2014 2:04 pm
Full Name: Fabien
Company Details: Amec Foster Wheeler
Company Position Title: Geomatics Project Manager
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Controling the P20 with laptop/cyclone scan?

Post by Scan-Ninja » Thu Jun 19, 2014 1:03 am

Is it possible to control the P20 remotely with a laptop, using cyclone scan?

User avatar
Matt Young
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3911
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:03 pm
Full Name: Matt Young
Company Details: Baker Hicks
Company Position Title: CAD-BIM Lead
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: Controling the P20 with laptop/cyclone scan?

Post by Matt Young » Thu Jun 19, 2014 8:31 am

Welcome to the Forum Fabien :D

The C10 definitely does, so don't see why not. If the scanner came with an Ethernet/scanner head cable then that's should just hook up to your laptop. I might be wrong of course and will wait for a P20 user to reply.
If you don't see that there is nothing, then you are kidding yourself.

User avatar
pburrows145
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:16 am
Full Name: Paul Burrows
Company Details: Leica Geosystems Europe
Company Position Title: Scanning Solutions Manager - Europe
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Controling the P20 with laptop/cyclone scan?

Post by pburrows145 » Thu Jun 19, 2014 11:56 am

You can't connect the P20 via Cyclone Scan

User avatar
Matt Young
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3911
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:03 pm
Full Name: Matt Young
Company Details: Baker Hicks
Company Position Title: CAD-BIM Lead
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: Controling the P20 with laptop/cyclone scan?

Post by Matt Young » Thu Jun 19, 2014 2:43 pm

Oh well... we don't use the P20, so though it might be the same.
If you don't see that there is nothing, then you are kidding yourself.

User avatar
SCCS RTC
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 658
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 9:30 am
Full Name: Phil Marsh
Company Details: SCCS Survey Equipment Limited
Company Position Title: Reality Capture Manager
Country: UK
Skype Name: Phil.H.Marsh
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Barnsley, UK
Been thanked: 6 times
Contact:

Re: Controling the P20 with laptop/cyclone scan?

Post by SCCS RTC » Thu Jun 19, 2014 4:40 pm

Do you mean control the scanner or stream the data?

You can control the scanner with a laptop/PC, iPAD or Mobile (Cell) Phone but the data will always stay on the unit. You can't stream the data to the laptop like you can with a ScanStation C10.
SCCS Survey Equipment Limited
M: 07540 201383
E: [email protected]
W: www.sccsurvey.co.uk
Image

Scan-Ninja
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 244
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2014 2:04 pm
Full Name: Fabien
Company Details: Amec Foster Wheeler
Company Position Title: Geomatics Project Manager
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Controling the P20 with laptop/cyclone scan?

Post by Scan-Ninja » Fri Jun 20, 2014 1:02 am

Thanks guys, Paul. Starting to question the decision of buying the P20 instead of the C10 (Ps: I haven't use it yet. Next week will be our first project with it. Hope to be impressed. Well, It is still way better the SS2 lol)

gblyth
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 1:29 am
Full Name: Glenne Blyth
Company Details: CRK
Company Position Title: Laser Scanning Consultant
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Controling the P20 with laptop/cyclone scan?

Post by gblyth » Wed Dec 17, 2014 5:01 am

You can use the P20 simulator to operate the scanner using a laptop.

Majid_noori
I have made 50-60 posts
I have made 50-60 posts
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 2:32 am
Full Name: MAJID DOOST
Company Details: Denada Surveys
Company Position Title: Laser Scanning Manager
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Contact:

Re: Controling the P20 with laptop/cyclone scan?

Post by Majid_noori » Mon Dec 22, 2014 5:55 am

Hi
I have used Glenne's suggestion and it worked well.

Cheers
MAJID

Post Reply

Return to “Pulse Based Scanners”