Help me control a C10 remotely

Trimble SX10, Leica BLK360, C5, C10, P15, P16, P20, P30, P40, P50, HDS8800, HDS8400, Riegl VZ6000, VZ4000, VZ2000, VZ1000 & VZ400i, Topcon GLS2000S, GLS1500, etc
Post Reply
User avatar
marc.micallef
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 3:21 pm
Full Name: Marc Micallef
Company Details: Projektengagemang
Company Position Title: Construction engineere
Country: Sweden
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Help me control a C10 remotely

Post by marc.micallef » Fri Dec 09, 2011 6:04 am

Hi everyone!


I´m new on this forum and I´ve been searching for a solution on how to control a C10 remotely by an Ipad, Iphone or a Android phone.
I´ve read that people have got it to work but I haven't read how they got it to work.
Now I´m hoping that you guys would be kind enough and to help me =).

I understand that I have to buy a wireless USB router for the C10, but does it have to be a Windy31?
The thing is that I live in Sweden and the only way for me to buy a Windy31 is to order it from USA.

Thanks / Marc

User avatar
scanmannss
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 4:07 am
Full Name: Mike Blair
Company Details: Stem Engineering Group
Company Position Title: Survey and Design
Country: Canada
Linkedin Profile: No
Location: Sault Ste Marie, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: Help me control a C10 remotely

Post by scanmannss » Fri Dec 09, 2011 4:45 pm

As I understand the Windy31 adaptor is the only supported WiFi for the C10 scanner.
MIKE BLAIR

User avatar
stevenramsey
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1703
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 9:22 pm
Full Name: Steven Ramsey
Company Details: 4DMax
Company Position Title: Technical Specialist Scanning
Country: UK
Skype Name: steven.ramsey
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: London
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Help me control a C10 remotely

Post by stevenramsey » Fri Dec 09, 2011 5:58 pm

Steven Ramsey

Home [email protected]
Work [email protected]
Mobile +44 7766 310 915

JeffT
I have made 70-80 posts
I have made 70-80 posts
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 2:23 pm
Full Name: Jeff T
Company Details: Geospatial
Company Position Title: Engineering Technician
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Help me control a C10 remotely

Post by JeffT » Sat Jun 16, 2012 2:36 am

Here's how I do it. I use the Android platform. This works flawlessly on my phone and my Nexus 7 Tablet.

First you need an app called Remote Desktop RDP lite. Here is a link for Google Play.
https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... BkZW1vIl0.

There is an Apple app too for ipad, but I don't use Apple stuff so you'll have to find that for yourself.

Before you can use this, you have to set up the connection for the Windy wireless router. Open the Remote RDP Lite app and hit the + to configure a new connection. Here are the things you have to enter:

Host: 192.168.33.1
Port: 3389
User: sbc
Password: sbc

Then at the very bottom
Name: [email protected]

I haven't changed any of the other settings.

After entering these things hit the back arrow to return to the connection listing. You should be able to connect to the Windy now, so power up your C10 and plug in the Windy. Let it boot up and sit a minute to get the router working.

Go into the wireless settings for your phone/tablet device and choose to connect to the Windy router It should be called something like "Lecia C10 1234567 WiFi". Select this.

Lastly, return to the Remote RDP Lite app and run the [email protected] connection by selecting it. The C10 screen will then appear on your device. It might look a bit wonky, but just click on anything on the screen (I usually just click "status") and the window will center itself nicely. Then you can zoom in and it's great.

I like working this way because the screen is far brighter in sunlight, and using a capacitive stylus allows you to select things in the scan window much better.

Attached is a screenshot of the settings I have:
Image
Last edited by JeffT on Mon Aug 27, 2012 3:19 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Wags
I have made 60-70 posts
I have made 60-70 posts
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 2:27 pm
Full Name: Wayne Wagner
Company Details: Unlimited Image Inc
Company Position Title: New Product Development
Country: USA
Skype Name: wags
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Help me control a C10 remotely

Post by Wags » Wed Jun 20, 2012 1:36 am

Windy 31N is better and quicker

User avatar
Matt Young
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3895
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:03 pm
Full Name: Matt Young
Company Details: Baker Hicks
Company Position Title: CAD-BIM Lead
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: Help me control a C10 remotely

Post by Matt Young » Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:39 am

I use the Windy 31n 150Mbps and it seems to work pretty well with an app called 2x client on my android phone.
If you don't see that there is nothing, then you are kidding yourself.

Jamesrye
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 466
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 4:13 pm
Full Name: James Rye
Company Details: Merrett Survey Partnership
Company Position Title: Spatial Analyst
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Help me control a C10 remotely

Post by Jamesrye » Wed Jun 20, 2012 11:59 am

I have also recently used the Windy 31N to remote control the scanner using a laptop.

It was actually really easy to setup and its quite nice to be able to check the images that the scanner acquires to be sure that the exposure is OK and that the operator/assistant has not accidentally wandered into shot.

tbwester
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 897
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 1:49 pm
Full Name: Thad Wester
Company Details: WeWork
Company Position Title: Head of Reality Capture
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: SC/NYC
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Help me control a C10 remotely

Post by tbwester » Wed Jun 20, 2012 1:47 pm

I've had nothing but good experiences with the Windy31N. I wouldn't mess around with anything else just to save a few bucks, or even a few hundred.

Last thing you want in the field is data transfer problems.

jmiranda
I have made 80-90 posts
I have made 80-90 posts
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 9:02 pm
Full Name: Jonathan Miranda
Company Details: IDOT
Company Position Title: Engineering Technician Senior
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: IA

Re: Help me control a C10 remotely

Post by jmiranda » Fri Aug 24, 2012 8:16 pm

Ok, so I bought the Windy31 and you can see the icon on the scanner. Downloaded the 2X client on the android market, but I don't know how to configure the app. Could somebody please help me figure this out?

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
Brezza76
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 2:42 pm
Full Name: Brett Casson
Company Details: H and F
Company Position Title: Scanning Manager - BIM Manager
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Help me control a C10 remotely

Post by Brezza76 » Mon Aug 27, 2012 6:59 am

I would love to know the answer to this as well

Post Reply

Return to “Pulse Based Scanners”