Scanning a freezer?

Trimble SX10, Leica BLK360, C5, C10, P15, P16, P20, P30, P40, P50, HDS8800, HDS8400, Riegl VZ6000, VZ4000, VZ2000, VZ1000 & VZ400i, Topcon GLS2000S, GLS1500, etc
Post Reply
cpw006
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 289
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 3:51 am
Full Name: Chris Widmer
Company Details: LAS
Company Position Title: 3D Scanning Manager
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Has thanked: 3 times

Scanning a freezer?

Post by cpw006 » Tue Apr 29, 2008 2:28 am

We are looking at scanning a very large freezer and in the past we have had a little trouble scanning in very cold temps. We had problems with the scanner shutting down at around 15 degrees farenheit. We have thought about placing a small heater below the scanner and a few other similar options. I was just wondering if anyone had ever faced any issues like this and how they were able to resolve these issues.

Thanks

User avatar
stevenramsey
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1703
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 9:22 pm
Full Name: Steven Ramsey
Company Details: 4DMax
Company Position Title: Technical Specialist Scanning
Country: UK
Skype Name: steven.ramsey
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: London
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Scanning a freezer?

Post by stevenramsey » Tue Apr 29, 2008 9:09 am

The cold seems to have more effect when the scanner is booting up, so keeping it warm prior to starting.

I once used one of those lights used on building sites suspended under the tripod looking up it kept the ambient temp up, good for the hands as well.
Steven Ramsey

Home [email protected]
Work [email protected]
Mobile +44 7766 310 915

User avatar
pollete
I have made 70-80 posts
I have made 70-80 posts
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:22 pm
Full Name: JOSE MARTINEZ RUBIO
Company Details: LFA-DAVAP
Company Position Title: Technical director
Country: Spain
Skype Name: josufet
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Valldolid, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Scanning a freezer?

Post by pollete » Tue Apr 29, 2008 10:44 am

Are you a FARO user?. Yes, I've had same problems while scanning a cathedral during last winter's coldest days (-3ºC and below). We could solve it by using a blanket covering the tripod from the floor to about 30 cm below the head, and running a heater fan inside the indian tipi.
I guess the reason of being scanners that sensitive to low temp, might be related to the need of extreme low play and stifnes of the bearings that must allow the mirror to spin at continuous speed. Low temperatures may affect to dimensions and also to the viscosity of the grease.
José Martínez Rubio
LFA-DAVAP Valladolid University
http://www3.uva.es/davap

cpw006
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 289
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 3:51 am
Full Name: Chris Widmer
Company Details: LAS
Company Position Title: 3D Scanning Manager
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Has thanked: 3 times

Re: Scanning a freezer?

Post by cpw006 » Tue Apr 29, 2008 11:17 pm

No we use an HDS3000 scanstation.

btylutki
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 9:16 am
Full Name: Bart Tylutki
Company Details: KSE
Company Position Title: HDS Manager
Country: USA NJ
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Scanning a freezer?

Post by btylutki » Sat Jun 20, 2009 12:31 am

I used Riegl Z-360 at -15C and not a problem - a real work horse but impossible to be calibrated correctly :-). Scanstation seemed to have a little more problems with adopting to very low temperatures giving some kind of random errors and annoying "checking accuracy" every 5 min. HDS6000 was OK, although I remember the range was slightly reduced, not to mention battery life. Placing heater under the scanner I would rather call a risky business because of possible water condensation plus hot air shimmering (different densities of air through which laser beam would have to travel could be causing some anomalies ).

User avatar
Jason Warren
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 3173
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 9:21 am
Full Name: Jason Warren
Company Details: Laser Scanning Forum Ltd
Company Position Title: Co-Founder
Country: UK
Skype Name: jason_warren
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Retford, UK
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Scanning a freezer?

Post by Jason Warren » Sat Jun 20, 2009 1:29 pm

Most EDM`s have built in heaters now so I suppose it will only be a matter of time before we see them in scanners?
Jason Warren

User avatar
Phill
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 7:19 am
Full Name: Phillip Nixon
Company Details: SKM
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: Australia
Location: Sydney
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Scanning a freezer?

Post by Phill » Mon Jun 22, 2009 4:18 am

Chris

I haven't done any of this sort of work myself, but I have heard of people wrapping the scanner in an electric blanket with mixed sucess.

Just another idea.

Phill

stevev
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 6:54 pm
Full Name: Stephen Vickers
Company Details: Focus Corporation
Company Position Title: Project Manger
Country: Canada
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Scanning a freezer?

Post by stevev » Mon Jun 22, 2009 9:35 pm

I have scanned with Scanstation 2 at -10 to -15 C. Never tried this but told it works, warm instrument thoroughly before use, i.e keep it the truck foor well with heating on full blast. then place dust masks over the air vents, the sort of thing you would use on a dusty site, might need some duct tape around the edges. Told it keeps all the warm air in, and allows sufficent air in without the scanner shutting down. Will try it this winter

Angharad
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 2:10 pm
Full Name: Angharad Matthews
Company Details: Terradat
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Linkedin Profile: No
Contact:

Re: Scanning a freezer?

Post by Angharad » Thu Oct 15, 2009 11:17 am

A bit late in the conversation I know, but I know the Topcon GLS 1000 has been used in conditions down to -10 degrees C with no problems. There is an factory upgrade for prolonged work in very cold climates. Something to try.

Angharad

User avatar
pburrows145
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 1778
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:16 am
Full Name: Paul Burrows
Company Details: Leica Geosystems Europe
Company Position Title: Scanning Solutions Manager - Europe
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: UK
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Scanning a freezer?

Post by pburrows145 » Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:14 pm

See attached...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post Reply

Return to “Pulse Based Scanners”