Normalizing intensity values

Discuss CloudCompare software here.
Post Reply
UBS1976
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 20, 2022 9:39 am
Full Name: Ulf Sjöström
Company Details: AF Gruppen
Company Position Title: Surveying Manager
Country: Norway
Has thanked: 2 times

Normalizing intensity values

Post by UBS1976 »

Hi, I have a project where point cloud data is produced via several platforms and programs. This is a bit problematic, since the scale of intensity varies depending on instrument and export format used. I have not much possibility to change that at the moment. Is there a way to normalize these different scans to a uniform scale in a program?

Example: one instrument or file format might give me intensity from -32000 to 32000 and another from -2000 to 2000, a third one from 0 to 1 and so on. So when I import all these it is very difficult to read the visual information from the intensity. Does anyone know of a method to give them the same range? I use CloudCompare and Cyclone 3DR.
User avatar
danielgm
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 183
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:45 am
9
Full Name: Daniel Girardeau-Montaut
Company Details: CloudCompare
Company Position Title: Administrator
Country: France
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Grenoble, France
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 22 times
Contact:

Re: Normalizing intensity values

Post by danielgm »

In CloudCompare, you can use th SF Arithmetics tool to multiyply the intensity scalar field by a constant:
https://www.cloudcompare.org/doc/wiki/i ... Arithmetic
Daniel
CloudCompare admin
http://www.cloudcompare.org/
max72
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 825
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:32 pm
9
Full Name: Massimo De Marchi
Company Details: Massimo De Marchi
Company Position Title: freelancer
Country: Italy
Skype Name: massimo_de_marchi
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 34 times
Contact:

Re: Normalizing intensity values

Post by max72 »

I use Cloudcompare to batch normalize intensity of my Horizon using command line.
In my case intensity is squashed in the lower range so I adapted to my needs.
In your case I would have more than a batch file, to be used for the clouds from different scanners.
It works fine unless I use big coordinates, in this case coordinates global shift is not automatically applied.

The batch file I use contains the following line:

Code: Select all

for %%f in (%*) DO "<insert your path here>\Cloudcompare\cloudcompare.exe" -SILENT -AUTO_SAVE OFF -O %%f -C_EXPORT_FMT LAS -SF_OP 2 mult 2.5 -SET_ACTIVE_SF 2 -FILTER_SF 0 65000 -SAVE_CLOUDS 
pause

Pause if just to check if there were errors.
You have to modify the path to Cloudcompare.

At this point simply drag and drop the clouds (you can drop multiple files) on the batch file.

Massimo
ing. Massimo De Marchi - +39 347 32 17 049 - www.studiodemarchi.net
Post Reply

Return to “CloudCompare”