[FEATURE REQUEST] Select by Intensity

Discuss all Arena 4D issues here.
Post Reply
jheadmears
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 9:13 pm
Full Name: James Head-Mears
Company Details: Lester Franks
Company Position Title: Graduate Surveyor
Country: Australia
Skype Name: james.head-mears
Linkedin Profile: Yes

[FEATURE REQUEST] Select by Intensity

Post by jheadmears » Wed Aug 31, 2016 3:07 am

I've recently been working with some scans that were taken at a mine site with a large amount of dust which is very evident in the scan data. At this stage I am manually selecting and clipping the dust out of the scans but in some areas this is not practical.

So I was wondering if it would be possible to put a 'Select by Intensity' or colour into Arena4D if there is not one already. This would operate as the name suggests by setting an upper or lower limit for intensity values and selecting all those. These points could then be removed with the delete tools.

max72
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:32 pm
Full Name: Massimo De Marchi
Company Details: Massimo De Marchi
Company Position Title: freelancer
Country: Italy
Skype Name: massimo_de_marchi
Contact:

Re: [FEATURE REQUEST] Select by Intensity

Post by max72 » Wed Aug 31, 2016 6:36 am

Check this tutorial:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_cue9Tb2r40
You can do the same with intensity.
Massimo
ing. Massimo De Marchi - +39 347 32 17 049 - www.studiodemarchi.net

User avatar
IngSayyad
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 239
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 12:10 pm
Full Name: shahzad sayyad
Company Details: Ingenieurbuero Drecoll
Company Position Title: Entwicklungsingenieur
Country: Germany
Skype Name: shah.baba_2012
Linkedin Profile: No
Location: Hannover
Contact:

Re: [FEATURE REQUEST] Select by Intensity

Post by IngSayyad » Wed Aug 31, 2016 8:22 am

you can check CloudCompare also.
Dr.-Ing. Shahzad Sayyad

jheadmears
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 9:13 pm
Full Name: James Head-Mears
Company Details: Lester Franks
Company Position Title: Graduate Surveyor
Country: Australia
Skype Name: james.head-mears
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: [FEATURE REQUEST] Select by Intensity

Post by jheadmears » Wed Aug 31, 2016 8:50 am

max72 wrote:Check this tutorial:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_cue9Tb2r40
You can do the same with intensity.
Massimo
Ahh that is almost exactly what I am looking for.
Thanks heaps for that.

max72
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:32 pm
Full Name: Massimo De Marchi
Company Details: Massimo De Marchi
Company Position Title: freelancer
Country: Italy
Skype Name: massimo_de_marchi
Contact:

Re: [FEATURE REQUEST] Select by Intensity

Post by max72 » Wed Aug 31, 2016 9:09 am

You can select also with other selectors (rectangle), not only brush..
Massimo
ing. Massimo De Marchi - +39 347 32 17 049 - www.studiodemarchi.net

Mark Christy
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 256
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 1:11 pm
Full Name: Mark Christy
Company Details: Veesus Ltd Arena4D.
Company Position Title: Technology Director
Country: United Kingdom
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: [FEATURE REQUEST] Select by Intensity

Post by Mark Christy » Wed Aug 31, 2016 9:57 am

Massimo beat me to it :)

Here's another quick video I put together showing the Rectangle tool and selection based on intensity values..


youtu.be/

Mark

Post Reply

Return to “Arena4D”