Switch from Autodesk ReCap to Arena4D

Discuss all Arena 4D issues here.
Post Reply
Simon3D
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 3:13 pm
Full Name: Simon Scherer
Company Details: Nomoko
Company Position Title: virtual architect
Country: Switzerland
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 3 times

Switch from Autodesk ReCap to Arena4D

Post by Simon3D » Wed Jun 05, 2019 10:23 am

Hello!

My task is to edit/classify huge rgb point clouds generated by photogrammetry.

Autodesk ReCap gets very slow as soon as I create category layers and do a few edits...

So I thought I would try out Arena4D... It seems to be able to handle editing without slowing down.

At the moment I am fighting with the UI and the navigation inside of the point cloud... :?
I know... RTFM...


Thank you!
Simon

max72
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 691
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:32 pm
Full Name: Massimo De Marchi
Company Details: Massimo De Marchi
Company Position Title: freelancer
Country: Italy
Skype Name: massimo_de_marchi
Contact:

Re: Switch from Autodesk ReCap to Arena4D

Post by max72 » Wed Jun 05, 2019 1:17 pm

What is your scope?
Thinking about Recap I would say the alternative might be the combo Rhino + Arena for Rhino?

Massimo
ing. Massimo De Marchi - +39 347 32 17 049 - www.studiodemarchi.net

Simon3D
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 3:13 pm
Full Name: Simon Scherer
Company Details: Nomoko
Company Position Title: virtual architect
Country: Switzerland
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 3 times

Re: Switch from Autodesk ReCap to Arena4D

Post by Simon3D » Wed Jun 05, 2019 3:04 pm

Hi Massimo!

My scope would be tiles with about 30-60 million points...

I am going to have a look at the combination of Rhino + Arena. Thank you for your advice!

My data is so nice but hard to handle...

Simon

Mark Christy
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 256
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 1:11 pm
Full Name: Mark Christy
Company Details: Veesus Ltd Arena4D.
Company Position Title: Technology Director
Country: United Kingdom
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Switch from Autodesk ReCap to Arena4D

Post by Mark Christy » Wed Jun 05, 2019 7:45 pm

Hi Simon,

If there's any way we can help just let us know. We've got plenty of documents and videos on the website, but I appreciate you can't beat some one on one support.

We do check the forum now and then, but the quickest way to get help is to contact us directly through our website.

Many Thanks

Mark

Post Reply

Return to “Arena4D”