Iris360 pro available?

Discuss all NCTech related issues here.
warren gunn
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 30, 2017 10:23 am
Full Name: Warren Gunn
Company Details: Technical Spatial Pty Ltd
Company Position Title: Director - Spatial Professional
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Iris360 pro available?

Post by warren gunn » Sat Nov 04, 2017 9:51 pm

Hi Guys, I guess this query goes out to the guys at NCTech. I have recently purchased a C10 and would like to compement it with an iris360pro or an iStar for HDR images and point cloud colourisation. I can also see many uses available in other areas of the spatial industry as a stand alone unit.

I like the idea of the iris360 images being better than the istar at 90mp however I also like the idea of the ruggedness of the istar.

I understand the iris360 isn't available at present, can NCTech please advise when it will be? and is there any opinion on whether the iStar or the Iris360 will better suit the majority of my work which will be point cloud colourisation

Any info would be warmly received

Thanks

Warren Gunn

steves01x
Forum Supporter
Forum Supporter
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 3:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Smith
Company Details: IIC
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: Scotland
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Iris360 pro available?

Post by steves01x » Sat Nov 04, 2017 9:57 pm

I maybe completely wrong but i was under the impression that the Iris was a 360 camera for Google Street view integration and the iStar was more of a calibrated/specialist 360 camera/lens that could be used with point clouds. Both look excellent though.

Badders
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 3:30 pm
Full Name: Andrew Baddeley
Company Details: NCTech Ltd
Company Position Title: Technical Sales Director
Country: Scotland
Skype Name: badders
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Edinburgh

Re: Iris360 pro available?

Post by Badders » Sun Nov 05, 2017 8:39 am

Warren - we hope to be able to make an announcement about iris360 Pro this coming week. Subject to successful testing, iris360 Pro may be suitable for point cloud colourisation via an optional paid firmware update.

Steves01x - you are correct in your assumption.

Regards,
Andrew Baddeley

warren gunn
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 30, 2017 10:23 am
Full Name: Warren Gunn
Company Details: Technical Spatial Pty Ltd
Company Position Title: Director - Spatial Professional
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Iris360 pro available?

Post by warren gunn » Fri Jan 05, 2018 11:17 am

Hi Andrew, happy New Year! Wondering if you can advise as to whether there was any announcement made early November regarding my queries around the Iris360 Pro and Point Cloud Colourisation?

Pretty keen to get my hands on something now and would like clarification as to what's proposed in relation to the Iris.

Cheers

Warren Gunn

steves01x
Forum Supporter
Forum Supporter
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 3:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Smith
Company Details: IIC
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: Scotland
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Iris360 pro available?

Post by steves01x » Fri Jan 05, 2018 2:14 pm

I have been using istar with p40 for last month ish and the speed increase compared to integrated camera is incredible.

As long as you wake/boot the istar up so it's ready for the scan to finish all you do is unclipped scanner, pop istar on (it set iso 100, hdr, 10 second time delay) and it literally is done in 10 to 30 seconds depending on light then you can take it off and move to next set up.

The immersive software for batch processing is also really easy and produces far better results than direct import to cyclone.

warren gunn
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 30, 2017 10:23 am
Full Name: Warren Gunn
Company Details: Technical Spatial Pty Ltd
Company Position Title: Director - Spatial Professional
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Iris360 pro available?

Post by warren gunn » Sat Jan 06, 2018 1:26 am

Hi Steve, thanks for this, yes I have trialled the iStar with my C10 and it works very well as you say. I also found the difference mapping colours from images to point cloud within Colour Cloud versus Cyclone however I'm happy to report that the issue has been fixed in Cyclone 9.2.1 and you now achieve the same result whether inside or outside of Cyclone, thanks Leica!

My thoughts were if I'm going to psend $10 - $12k on a camera solution to work with the scanner then I'd rather wait for the 90mp version being the iris360 pro if release was imminent

Cheers

Warren

steves01x
Forum Supporter
Forum Supporter
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 3:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Smith
Company Details: IIC
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: Scotland
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Iris360 pro available?

Post by steves01x » Sat Jan 06, 2018 1:15 pm

yeah 90mp v 50mp on the imagery would be a great improvement!

i was looking at the iris360 pro for my own camera kit collection!

Return to “NCTech”