Missing points after indexing .e57 from TRW 11.3 in Recap

Discuss all Trimble Realworks related issues here.
Post Reply
Charles_Topo
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2020 2:42 pm
Full Name: TABATH
Company Details: TOPOGRADE
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: France

Missing points after indexing .e57 from TRW 11.3 in Recap

Post by Charles_Topo »

Hello everyone!

I am using a Faro X330, for interiors scanning. Processing FLS files in TRW 11.3.
Here is my workflow:
1- Loading FLS into TRW
2- Sample step by 3
3- Plane or cloud base registration (depend on the situation)
4- Converting all scans in .e57
5- Indexing theses .e57 in Recap

I never had any issues until yesterday.
All went good until the step 5.
When I opened the Rcp file in order to clean it and take off the useless points, I noticed that a big part of the points was missing, and so on every scan position. As if I have cut each position in 2 and delete one piece (see the screenshot)

I first though that it was a scanner issue but when I checked on the TRW project where the .e57 came from, I noticed that all points where displaying as usual.
So I decided to convert into .pts and index it in Recap>>> It worked with no missing points
I tried to convert directly in RCP from TRW>>>>> It worked well with no missing points

I know I still can work like this, but from now I am not able to index .e57 files from TRW into Rcp.
Do someone has ever face this problem? How can I fix it?

Note that I have this problem with all my other old project now.

I have send a .tzf file to a colleague for him to test it and he managed to index the .e57 in Recap with no problem...
I tried to uninstal/reinstal TRW and Recap 5.1 with no changes...
I am running out of ideas...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
ClementP
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2019 9:01 am
Full Name: Clément PLEGADES
Company Details: TRIMBLE
Company Position Title: Software Engineer
Country: FR
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Missing points after indexing .e57 from TRW 11.3 in Recap

Post by ClementP »

Hello,
According to the last Recap Release note they fixed an issue with the e57 import:
Only half of scan is imported for some .e57 files exported from BLK360.
Maybe you can try to upgrade your Recap version to 6.0+
User avatar
VinceMain
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 7:49 am
Full Name: Vincent
Company Details: SiDD
Company Position Title: Assistant Surveyor
Country: South Africa
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Missing points after indexing .e57 from TRW 11.3 in Recap

Post by VinceMain »

Having this same issue , I export for Cyclone to recap and the e57 just won't import right. The file size shows all the data is there but recap just won't
load them on import.

Might be in the way that recap sets up the scan location , if there are scans with the same name maybe it will replace it. Can't determine what the name is in the e57
Post Reply

Return to “Trimble Realworks”