MeshLab

Discuss all Mesh Lab related issues here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Phil Marsh
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2390
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 2:28 pm
Full Name: Phil Marsh
Company Details: Laser Scanning Forum Ltd
Company Position Title: Director
Country: UK
Skype Name: phil.h.marsh
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Barnsley, UK
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 20 times
Contact:

MeshLab

Post by Phil Marsh »

LASER SCANNING FORUM
[email protected]
User avatar
Matt Young
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3929
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:03 pm
Full Name: Matt Young
Company Details: Baker Hicks
Company Position Title: CAD-BIM Lead
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: MeshLab

Post by Matt Young »

Has anyone ever had any real success with Meshlab?

Seems to me that there is always a problem on the many occasions I have tried to install it...
Meshlab_64b 1.3.2.jpg
I am running a high spec PC with Windows 7 and all the updates, Now I need something else!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
If you don't see that there is nothing, then you are kidding yourself.
User avatar
blazaj
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 484
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 1:07 pm
Full Name: Jiri Blazek
Company Details: BW precision systems sro
Company Position Title: Managing Director
Country: Czech Republic
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: MeshLab

Post by blazaj »

Matt,
you need to download from Microsoft website and install the exact package it mentions in the error message. Then meshlab works fine.

It is not super stable and I didn't use it in production other then visualisation tool, but it doesn't mean it is a bad tool. Smaller and clean pointclouds will produce better meshes faster, but again it can be said for any meshing software :)

Cheers
Jiri
max72
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 744
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:32 pm
Full Name: Massimo De Marchi
Company Details: Massimo De Marchi
Company Position Title: freelancer
Country: Italy
Skype Name: massimo_de_marchi
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times
Contact:

Re: MeshLab

Post by max72 »

Matt,
I had problems too, because I installed the Italian redistributable (correct version but wrong language).
I fixed it installing the English version. Not sure about your case..

Massimo
ing. Massimo De Marchi - +39 347 32 17 049 - www.studiodemarchi.net
User avatar
Matt Young
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3929
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:03 pm
Full Name: Matt Young
Company Details: Baker Hicks
Company Position Title: CAD-BIM Lead
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: MeshLab

Post by Matt Young »

I went to MS installed the software as suggested... but still same message unfortunately. Will try again soon when I have some time, as I really could do with a low cost method of meshing data occasionally.
If you don't see that there is nothing, then you are kidding yourself.
User avatar
arie
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2013 11:43 am
Full Name: Arie Kai-Browne
Company Details: University of Applied Sciences Berlin
Company Position Title: Scientific staff member
Country: Germany
Skype Name: aaaarie
Linkedin Profile: No
Location: Berlin
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: MeshLab

Post by arie »

Matt, I've encountered the same problem numerous times. As already has been suggested, it usually helped when installing the english version of microsofts redistributable.
If I remember correctly, you can also just unzip the .exe and launch meshlab from the unzipped folder.

I've been using Meshlab since about 4 years now. As probably most know, it can be quite unstable but when you get to know it's quirks, one can work around (some of) them. Main problem for me is the bad viewport performance when working with high-res meshes.

I mainly use it for meshing pointclouds, the Poisson reconstruction delivers wonderful results as long as the octree-depth is set high enough. In my opinion it delivers much nicer results than, for example, geomagic does. Furthermore I frequently use the decimation (quadric edge collapse) for creating low-poly meshes, onto which normalmaps are transfered that have been derived from the high-res meshes.

Recently support has been added for importing SFM-data, so the digital images with their according camera-poses can be imported. This is used for projecting the color information onto a mesh. This is really a great way of getting some high-res colors on your mesh and I've used it to combine laserscan data (mesh) with SFM (color).

Additionaly they have some tools for "aligning" images to meshes, so it is not even necessary to have known camera poses.

Cheers,
Arie.
User avatar
3DForensics
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1929
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 1:52 am
Full Name: Eugene Liscio
Company Details: AI2-3D Forensics
Company Position Title: Owner
Skype Name: eliscio
Location: Toronto, Canada
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 17 times
Contact:

Re: MeshLab

Post by 3DForensics »

I had the same problem and what you can do is use a program like 7-Zip to extract the exe file. I did this on my desktop and just ran the executable in the folder....works just fine this way.

Why the heck it doesn't install properly is beyond me...

Eugene
User avatar
Matt Young
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3929
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:03 pm
Full Name: Matt Young
Company Details: Baker Hicks
Company Position Title: CAD-BIM Lead
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: MeshLab

Post by Matt Young »

Yep, unzipped the exe using WinRAR, installed the English version of C++ but no good.

Might try it on my laptop and see if it works there instead. It's only 32bit but not a bad machine.
If you don't see that there is nothing, then you are kidding yourself.
User avatar
Matt Young
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3929
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:03 pm
Full Name: Matt Young
Company Details: Baker Hicks
Company Position Title: CAD-BIM Lead
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: MeshLab

Post by Matt Young »

Okay, I installed the 1.3.0 version with no problems.

Only problem I do have is that it's very unstable to use. I can get an xyz file in as a test and can see the points. I try to run meshing (Poisson reconstruction) and it crashes every time, It's only five thousand points. I did try a .pts file but Meshlab doesn't seem to like a Leica .pts file and it's probably something to do with the header in the file. Might try .ptx and see if that is any better.

I know it's free and I know that others have had great success with it, but it's never worked for me! Personally I think you get what you pay for and would go with something like 3D Reshaper or Geomagic instead.

I just want to get some meshes created and then play with them in Z-Brush.
If you don't see that there is nothing, then you are kidding yourself.
AG_MJA
I have made 50-60 posts
I have made 50-60 posts
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 1:03 pm
Full Name: Mark Anderson
Company Details: Academy Geomatics Ltd
Company Position Title: Director
Country: England

Re: MeshLab

Post by AG_MJA »

There is a Z-Brush type painting option in meshlab.
Post Reply

Return to “MeshLab”