Point cloud in Meshlab, now what?

3DReshaper, FROST, MeshLab, VRMesh, ZBrush & 3DCoat, CloudCompare, Etc
Post Reply
hatethisbit
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:07 pm
Full Name: Chris
Company Details: Plandescil
Company Position Title: Technician
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 1 time

Point cloud in Meshlab, now what?

Post by hatethisbit » Wed Feb 28, 2018 11:43 am

A work colleague recently scanned a clients building using a handheld scanner and ive taken the resulting .ply file and inserted it into Meshlab. The trouble is i have absolutely no idea now what i can do with it. Ideally we would like to be able to cut sections through the cloud and be able to measure from it. In a perfect world we'd also be able to mesh it and gain a 3d model from the cloud. I am a total novice with Meshlab and its interface is alien to me. Can anybody help?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

neeravbm
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 3:29 pm
Full Name: Neerav Mehta
Company Details: Indoor Intelligence
Company Position Title: CTO
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Point cloud in Meshlab, now what?

Post by neeravbm » Wed Feb 28, 2018 2:52 pm

Here's a good step-by-step tutorial to create a mesh in Meshlab: http://fabacademy.org/archives/2014/tut ... ToSTL.html

I am not sure if Meshlab has a sectioning tool though.
Neerav Mehta
CTO, Indoor Intelligence
Creators of http://scantobim.xyz and http://rep3d.com

User avatar
gordonired
I have made 60-70 posts
I have made 60-70 posts
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2017 4:27 pm
Full Name: Gordon
Company Details: IRED
Company Position Title: Support Engineer
Country: Canada
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Alberta
Contact:

Re: Point cloud in Meshlab, now what?

Post by gordonired » Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:13 pm

If you are familiar with CloudCompare, you can import the .PLY into that software. You can use the section tool on either a mesh or a cloud. You will need to have it in point cloud form to measure from point to point. This is the quickest way for rough measurements in my opinion.

User avatar
3DForensics
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1891
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 1:52 am
Full Name: Eugene Liscio
Company Details: AI2-3D Forensics
Company Position Title: Owner
Skype Name: eliscio
Location: Toronto, Canada
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Point cloud in Meshlab, now what?

Post by 3DForensics » Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:18 pm

You may want to consider CloudCompare as well. It has some really good features and will easily handle ply, plus convert to many formats. There are some simple meshing tools and you may be better off in MeshLab for that purpose but otherwise, CloudCompare is a great tool.

hatethisbit
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:07 pm
Full Name: Chris
Company Details: Plandescil
Company Position Title: Technician
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Point cloud in Meshlab, now what?

Post by hatethisbit » Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:38 pm

I am not familiar with any of these programs at all im afraid, Meshlabs is incredily confusing but i will have a look at Cloudcompare anyway.

brian715
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2016 3:24 pm
Full Name: Brian Boehmer
Company Details: Meridian Eng.
Company Position Title: LiDAR Technician
Country: United States
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Point cloud in Meshlab, now what?

Post by brian715 » Wed Feb 28, 2018 4:11 pm

I have used Recap 360 pro to get a good mesh of a large room recently. You should be able to get a 30 Day trial to test it out. You must get a the pro version to do meshing.

hatethisbit
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:07 pm
Full Name: Chris
Company Details: Plandescil
Company Position Title: Technician
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Point cloud in Meshlab, now what?

Post by hatethisbit » Thu Mar 01, 2018 10:59 am

Recap is something i can access. Is there a way to tighten up the accuracy of the points in the program? Now thinking we will ignore meshing and try to draft from the point cloud but its not quite tight enough.

TMillington
I have made 50-60 posts
I have made 50-60 posts
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 10:59 am
Full Name: Tony Millington
Company Details: ISIS Rutherford Appleton Laboratory
Company Position Title: Survey section leader
Country: uk
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Point cloud in Meshlab, now what?

Post by TMillington » Thu Mar 01, 2018 11:34 am

Chris

You won't be able to 'tighten up' the accuracy - the accuracy of the points is determined depending on the usual variables (scanning range, equipment, survey control, etc). However, if you're looking for more points in the cloud you're drawing from, you'll need to check the decimation settings when you initially import the scan data into Recap and then reduce the decimation factor
Capture.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

hatethisbit
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:07 pm
Full Name: Chris
Company Details: Plandescil
Company Position Title: Technician
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Point cloud in Meshlab, now what?

Post by hatethisbit » Thu Mar 01, 2018 11:36 am

Thats brilliant thank you. I'm aware im way out of my depth with programs such as meshlab but perhaps Recap will give me everything i need in regards to drafting from a point cloud?

Post Reply

Return to “Meshing Software”