3D Touch Mode - Useless!

Discuss all Cyclone 3DR related issues here.
Post Reply
andrewfoss01
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 4:53 pm
Full Name: Andrew Foss
Company Details: LN Land Development Tech
Company Position Title: Survey Specialist
Country: Canada
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Been thanked: 2 times

3D Touch Mode - Useless!

Post by andrewfoss01 »

Recently, Leica introduced a "3D Touch mode" for Cyclone 3DR....I'm not sure how the rest of you, but I feel that this is a useless feature that next to no-one will use. 3DR is a heavily dependent on fast hardware which comes in the form of a desktop computer. And Desktop don't usually come with touch screens. In any aspect, I only feel that 2%-3% of users will utilize this feature, and time and money spent to develop this feature should of been better spent on developing other features. Thoughts anyone?
Last edited by andrewfoss01 on Fri Apr 23, 2021 11:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
smacl
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 641
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 5:12 pm
Full Name: Shane MacLaughlin
Company Details: Atlas Computers Ltd
Company Position Title: Managing Director
Country: Ireland
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Ireland
Has thanked: 219 times
Been thanked: 218 times
Contact:

Re: 3D Touch Mode - Useless!

Post by smacl »

Guessing it is an early technical investment made on the likelihood of handheld computers getting increasingly faster on the one hand, or more likely, increasingly connected where the heavy lifting will be done by a backend server.

FWIW, one of the desktop monitors I bought a while back was touch screen. Only found out when I went to clean it and managed to wreck my desktop by shoving all the icons together. Turned it off after that, not a big fan. :?
User avatar
landmeterbeuckx
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 891
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 5:19 pm
Full Name: Lieven Beuckx
Company Details: Studiebureau Beuckx
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: Belgium
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 71 times
Been thanked: 181 times

Re: 3D Touch Mode - Useless!

Post by landmeterbeuckx »

smacl wrote: Fri Apr 23, 2021 6:58 pm Guessing it is an early technical investment made on the likelihood of handheld computers getting increasingly faster on the one hand, or more likely, increasingly connected where the heavy lifting will be done by a backend server.

FWIW, one of the desktop monitors I bought a while back was touch screen. Only found out when I went to clean it and managed to wreck my desktop by shoving all the icons together. Turned it off after that, not a big fan. :?
LOL

About the 3d touch mode, who is going to do these kind of important procedures in the field? All softwares are promising is fast on site. Well, you never need this. A simple calculator on site to do simple calcs and the isolation of your office to look this data through without a number of people breathing down your neck.....
If there is a fault in the construction, well it is already wrong so why rush... sort it out at ease and correct the first time.
LSBbvba
Surveying services - 3D Laserscanning
Tel : +32477753126
www.lsbbvba.be
[email protected]
andrewfoss01
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 4:53 pm
Full Name: Andrew Foss
Company Details: LN Land Development Tech
Company Position Title: Survey Specialist
Country: Canada
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: 3D Touch Mode - Useless!

Post by andrewfoss01 »

landmeterbeuckx wrote: Fri Apr 23, 2021 7:20 pm
smacl wrote: Fri Apr 23, 2021 6:58 pm Guessing it is an early technical investment made on the likelihood of handheld computers getting increasingly faster on the one hand, or more likely, increasingly connected where the heavy lifting will be done by a backend server.

FWIW, one of the desktop monitors I bought a while back was touch screen. Only found out when I went to clean it and managed to wreck my desktop by shoving all the icons together. Turned it off after that, not a big fan. :?
LOL

About the 3d touch mode, who is going to do these kind of important procedures in the field? All softwares are promising is fast on site. Well, you never need this. A simple calculator on site to do simple calcs and the isolation of your office to look this data through without a number of people breathing down your neck.....
If there is a fault in the construction, well it is already wrong so why rush... sort it out at ease and correct the first time.

I agree... The worst thing you do is issue a result in the field without it being carefully checked over in the office.
Leandre Robitaille
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 216
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 1:53 am
Full Name: Leandre Robitaille
Company Details: Cima+
Company Position Title: Civil Technician
Country: Canada
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 54 times

Re: 3D Touch Mode - Useless!

Post by Leandre Robitaille »

If you want another waste of energy on leica dev team...why do they have 2 softwares for pointcloud processing?Register 360 and Cyclone. Shouldn't it all be 1 software with everyone working on it?
andrewfoss01
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 4:53 pm
Full Name: Andrew Foss
Company Details: LN Land Development Tech
Company Position Title: Survey Specialist
Country: Canada
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: 3D Touch Mode - Useless!

Post by andrewfoss01 »

Leandre Robitaille wrote: Sat Apr 24, 2021 1:08 pm If you want another waste of energy on leica dev team...why do they have 2 softwares for pointcloud processing?Register 360 and Cyclone. Shouldn't it all be 1 software with everyone working on it?
I can agree to that. I only use the one. (reg360). I think in time they will discontinue cyclone core and integrate everything into reg360
User avatar
Mike Annear
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 672
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 5:45 am
Full Name: Mike Annear
Company Details: Mike Annear
Company Position Title: 3D Modeler
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: On an island off Brisbane ...
Has thanked: 48 times
Been thanked: 106 times
Contact:

Re: 3D Touch Mode - Useless!

Post by Mike Annear »

andrewfoss01 wrote: Sat Apr 24, 2021 1:46 pm I can agree to that. I only use the one. (reg360). I think in time they will discontinue cyclone core and integrate everything into reg360
Hmm, Cyclone is still the better Registration product by far, Reg 360 might get a result, but you don't know how it got there :)

Leica need to focus on Cyclone as their flagship software product and rewrite its GUI/UXI to bring it into the 21st Century.
Leica products need to be able to talk to each other seamlessly, and also to other non Leica industry software products.

Leica assume that their customers have only used their products, they forget that most people in this industry mix and match hardware and software to suit different projects.The strengths and weaknesses of each product become very apparent when compared directly.

I would love to know if Leica have actual Customer Beta Testers, this LSF seems to be the closest thing !
Mike.
Mike Annear
www.mikeannear.com
QLD, Australia.
User avatar
gsisman
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 510
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:51 pm
Full Name: Steve Long
Company Details: Montgomery County DOT _ MD
Company Position Title: Land Survey Supervisor
Country: United States
Skype Name: gsisman1
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 248 times
Been thanked: 52 times

Re: 3D Touch Mode - Useless!

Post by gsisman »

Mike Annear wrote: Sat Apr 24, 2021 11:16 pm
andrewfoss01 wrote: Sat Apr 24, 2021 1:46 pm I can agree to that. I only use the one. (reg360). I think in time they will discontinue cyclone core and integrate everything into reg360
Hmm, Cyclone is still the better Registration product by far, Reg 360 might get a result, but you don't know how it got there :)

Leica need to focus on Cyclone as their flagship software product and rewrite its GUI/UXI to bring it into the 21st Century.
Leica products need to be able to talk to each other seamlessly, and also to other non Leica industry software products.

Leica assume that their customers have only used their products, they forget that most people in this industry mix and match hardware and software to suit different projects.The strengths and weaknesses of each product become very apparent when compared directly.

I would love to know if Leica have actual Customer Beta Testers, this LSF seems to be the closest thing !
Mike.

I would specifically like to know this also. They could not produce ONE world-wide customer who was using and Cloud-based solution for Jetstream Enterprise. You definitely have to sign an NDA, which we are still waiting for a response to on Leica's part.
I will give them credit for integrating SPECIFIC requests from customers into their newer REG 360 product. Whether they were already in the development chain or not, I don't know, but I am feeling that at least 6 items our small survey team has specifically requested of the development team have been integrated into Reg 360 from 2017 to this year.
The one thing Leica could do to enhance their products and the extended use of their software, is play nice with other hardware vendors. The one I'd like to see is importing Leica AND Non-Leica Mobile and Slam data in unstructured scan data.
User avatar
stutosney
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Tue May 15, 2018 5:55 am
Full Name: Stuart Tosney
Company Details: ---
Company Position Title: Geospatial Consultant
Country: Ireland
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 39 times

Re: 3D Touch Mode - Useless!

Post by stutosney »

I think with 5G on the horizon, there will be a better connection between field team and client in the future. I missed the 3D touch webinar and haven't got round to watching the recording yet, but isn't it to do with on site verification between the cloud and an IFC model? If so, I can see the benefits, particularly in construction where you'd already have your site control established and could be used as a way for monitoring.

Secondly, I do believe the eventual aim from Leica would be to incorporate the best parts of Cyclone Core into Reg360 and eventually discontinue Core completely, it would make logical sense. I guess they just have to tweak Reg360 as Cyclone has a lot more going on behind the scenes.
sim.herrod
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 12:26 pm
Full Name: Simeon Herrod
Company Details: Terra Measurement Limited
Company Position Title: 3D Data Manager
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 41 times

Re: 3D Touch Mode - Useless!

Post by sim.herrod »

andrewfoss01 wrote: Sat Apr 24, 2021 1:46 pm I think in time they will discontinue cyclone core and integrate everything into reg360
That would be like trying to modify a crappy city car to compete with the luxury car that you already own.
Post Reply

Return to “Leica Cyclone 3DR”