Point cloud reduction

Discuss all 3DReshaper related issues here.
Post Reply
Phips
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 2:46 pm
Full Name: Philipp Mielke
Company Details: STRABAG
Company Position Title: STRABAG
Country: Deutschland

Point cloud reduction

Post by Phips » Tue Apr 16, 2019 4:27 pm

Hi all,
a year ago I used 3DReshaper to reduce a dense point cloud.
Somehow I've managed to keep more points on the edges but reduce them dramatically on planes, see images below.
Unfortunately, I totally forgot how I did it. Does anyone have an idea what my workflow could have been? I'm pretty sure I've used 3DReshaper.

Image
Image

User avatar
gilles_3Dreshaper
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 11:41 am
Full Name: Gilles Monnier
Company Details: Technodigit
Company Position Title: 3DReshaper Manager
Country: France
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Point cloud reduction

Post by gilles_3Dreshaper » Tue Apr 16, 2019 4:38 pm

Hi Philipp,

From what I can see in your images, I would say that you first meshed the data and then converted the mesh vertices into a point cloud.

When you mesh in 3DR, the best is to do it in 2 steps:
1. create a rough mesh with a given average distance between vertices
2. refine the mesh: add vertices is the area of high curvature (small radii). This will not add vertices in the flat area and therefore keep the initial density coming from the rough mesh.

FYI: in the ground extraction (survey module), a similar process is applied, creating a mesh with such density differences
Gilles
3DReshaper Manager
http://www.3dreshaper.com

Phips
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 2:46 pm
Full Name: Philipp Mielke
Company Details: STRABAG
Company Position Title: STRABAG
Country: Deutschland

Re: Point cloud reduction

Post by Phips » Wed Apr 17, 2019 7:33 am

Oh yes, this rings some bells. I think I made a mesh first... :idea:

Regarding the ground extractor tool: I've used it before but it often seems to cut off the topmost edges off stockpiles or break lines. See example below.

Image

Post Reply

Return to “3DReshaper”