Point cloud from SCENE to Geomagic for solidworks

Discuss all Geomagic related issues here.
Post Reply
vpul
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 12:53 pm
Full Name: Veli-Niilo Pulkkinen
Company Details: Simetek Works Oy
Company Position Title: Design Engineer
Country: Finland
Linkedin Profile: No

Point cloud from SCENE to Geomagic for solidworks

Post by vpul » Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:08 am

Hi,

Our company is now testing the Geomagic for Solidworks and question is that how can I bring point clouds from Scene to Geomagic for solidworks? Main problem is that Scene's export file formats are totally different from what Geomagic for solidworks can open, or am I missing something?

Meshes I can bring to GfS without problem ,but how about the point clouds? Because we are using Scene to make separate point clouds to one.

Thx for your help for advance.

Br,
Veli

MiquelCaptae
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2016 12:49 pm
Full Name: Miquel Estupinya Gaudioso
Company Details: CAPTAE DIGITALIZADO 3D
Company Position Title: DIRECTOR TECNICO
Country: SPAIN

Re: Point cloud from SCENE to Geomagic for solidworks

Post by MiquelCaptae » Thu Feb 02, 2017 12:25 pm

Hi,

Has you tested to import a XYZ (ASCII) format?
Do it first with a little file from Scene. Geomagic don't accept big point clouds.

SAttaya
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 325
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 4:04 pm
Full Name: Steve Attaya
Company Details: Geocent
Company Position Title: Sr. Software Analyst [RemoteSensingEngr]
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: New Orleans, LA
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Point cloud from SCENE to Geomagic for solidworks

Post by SAttaya » Thu Feb 02, 2017 1:12 pm

Geomagic's DesignX will take in .fls natively.
You probably will want to install the latest SDK from FARO before you import them.
Register them in SCENE and export to .fls.
Know to work with one of the 5.5 versions
and with the current 6.2.3.9 version of SCENE.

(Don't know about any other GeoMagic products.)
Do know that DesignX has two PT? formats, "?" being either S or X.

vpul
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 12:53 pm
Full Name: Veli-Niilo Pulkkinen
Company Details: Simetek Works Oy
Company Position Title: Design Engineer
Country: Finland
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Point cloud from SCENE to Geomagic for solidworks

Post by vpul » Fri Feb 03, 2017 6:15 am

Hi,

Thx for the replies. I have tried to .xyz , but nothing happens.

Please note that I'm talking about Geomagic for Solidworks -add in, not the Design X
GfS is add-in which you can buy to Solidworks cad-program.

GfS can import Point Clouds (.asc , .scn , .vtx) and Gridded points ( .3pi, .ac , .btx , .gpd , .ptx)

Do I have to use some 3rd party program to convert the point cloud or something?

Br,
Veli

max72
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 693
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:32 pm
Full Name: Massimo De Marchi
Company Details: Massimo De Marchi
Company Position Title: freelancer
Country: Italy
Skype Name: massimo_de_marchi
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Point cloud from SCENE to Geomagic for solidworks

Post by max72 » Fri Feb 03, 2017 7:01 am

Scene exports in ptx format, and I venture that if you rename a .xyz in .asc it should work.

Massimo
ing. Massimo De Marchi - +39 347 32 17 049 - www.studiodemarchi.net

WWilford
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 239
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:39 pm
Full Name: Warren Wilford
Company Details: Berkshire Dimensions
Company Position Title: owner
Country: USA
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Point cloud from SCENE to Geomagic for solidworks

Post by WWilford » Fri Feb 03, 2017 10:40 am

For Geomagic Wrap I export VRML from Scene and it brings the point cloud into Wrap with color. It takes a long while to export from scene.

Warren

scan 3D Poland
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 10:29 am
Full Name: Szymon Bloch
Company Details: scan 3D
Company Position Title: CEO
Country: Poland
Skype Name: szymon_bloch
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Poland, Gdynia
Contact:

Re: Point cloud from SCENE to Geomagic for solidworks

Post by scan 3D Poland » Fri Feb 03, 2017 11:07 am

Hi,
we use Geomagig For SolidWorks, but this plugin is dedicated for points cloud in PLY format. This format of point clouds give Optical scanner.

max72
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 693
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:32 pm
Full Name: Massimo De Marchi
Company Details: Massimo De Marchi
Company Position Title: freelancer
Country: Italy
Skype Name: massimo_de_marchi
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Point cloud from SCENE to Geomagic for solidworks

Post by max72 » Fri Feb 03, 2017 1:01 pm

If you need to convert to ply use Cloudcompare.
Mind ply can be ascii or binary, can have points or meshes and some importers are picky..

By the way if you never used it, you cannot miss Cloudcompare.. it's a must have tool.

Massimo
ing. Massimo De Marchi - +39 347 32 17 049 - www.studiodemarchi.net

Post Reply

Return to “Geomagic”