Shared coordinate and scale in Revit

Discuss all BIM related issues here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Peyman Bashiri
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 482
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 6:32 pm
Full Name: Peyman Bashiri
Company Details: Aero Geometrics Canadian Z+F reseller
Company Position Title: Laser scanning amd BIM Specialist
Country: Canada
Skype Name: pbashiri2003
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Vancouver,BC
Been thanked: 10 times
Contact:

Shared coordinate and scale in Revit

Post by Peyman Bashiri »

Dear Friends,

I did a scan job few days ago to prepare a 3D Urban facade by using laser scan data.
I did the scan on GPS control points and register it in Cyclone and export PTS then PCG into Revit using both Center to Center and Origin o origin method to keep the coordinate .But after finishing the models and reexport it to autocad the coordinate and scale both changed.

It is a test job for a bigger project for a 4.8 Km street and since the mobile mapper is out of question we offer to test the terestrial scanners.

Have you face this issues and got a solution for it?
this is some image of the job too.
thanks
Peyman
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Matt Young
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5141
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:03 pm
Full Name: Matt Young
Company Details: Baker Hicks
Company Position Title: CAD-BIM Lead
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: Shared coordinate and scale in Revit

Post by Matt Young »

I just did a quick test in Revit by creating a wall object and exporting it to .dwg.

Under the manage tab in Revit I assigned meters as the units and also assigned three decimal places. I then set the coordinate system to a picked point on the wall of x1000,y1000,z100

When I open the model in AutoCAD the coordinates are as follows X = -6437.166 Y = 1170.427 Z = 0.000 - obviously not correct.

I then realised that Revit exports a UCS with the .dwg called REVIT60-Internal. I set this UCS and the coordinates were closer to being correct but still not perfect: X = 991500.000 Y = 999710.000 Z = 100000.000 - the decimal place is not correct and the scale factor is also not right.

I did this in Revit 2012 and maybe there is some difference with 2013?
If you don't see that there is nothing, then you are kidding yourself.

User avatar
Matt Young
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5141
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:03 pm
Full Name: Matt Young
Company Details: Baker Hicks
Company Position Title: CAD-BIM Lead
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: Shared coordinate and scale in Revit

Post by Matt Young »

I just tried this again and got a better result, might of missed something first time round.

This time I assigned a coordinate of 100,100,50 with the units set to meters and three decimal places. When I opened the model in AutoCAD the same point ID was X = 99999.9999 Y = 100000.0000 Z = 50000.0000 (millimeters and four decimal places?) So I scaled the AutoCAD drawing by .001 to get it back to meters.
If you don't see that there is nothing, then you are kidding yourself.

User avatar
Peyman Bashiri
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 482
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 6:32 pm
Full Name: Peyman Bashiri
Company Details: Aero Geometrics Canadian Z+F reseller
Company Position Title: Laser scanning amd BIM Specialist
Country: Canada
Skype Name: pbashiri2003
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Vancouver,BC
Been thanked: 10 times
Contact:

Re: Shared coordinate and scale in Revit

Post by Peyman Bashiri »

Dear Matt,
Thanks for your replys and follow ups ,If you load the original point cloud in Autocad (by cloudworx or any other method) you will see that the exported dwg file from revit is destined far from original location in all 3 dimensions and also scale.
another member suggested the following steps to correct the scale in another post but i think the correct scale factor should be 0.1 instead of 1
"""""""
after import the .pcg fileI notice in the point cloud type properties, it has scaled it to: 3.280840.
My file is in metric millimeters. The 3.280840 looks like one of those off imperial conversions, and the point cloud itself does not look to be the correct size. (however when I import the .pcg file into an imperial rvt file I get the same thing). It seems a bit odd. Has anyone come across this? Steps to import cloud:

1) Insert –> Point Cloud
2) Pick One cloud. You may need to select Raw Formats in the “Files of Type” Pull-down.
3) Set “Positioning” pull-down to Auto – Center to Center - Click Open
4) Cloud is converted and Imported.
5) Find cloud, try 3D view if you can’t see in plan. Highlight it Click Edit Type –> Set Scale to 1.06) You can manually align the first cloud to a model
7) Move the cloud in the X, Y & Z to align it where you want it.
8) Once you have it aligned well, repeat steps 1-4 for each cloud except Set “Positioning” pull-down to Auto – Origin to Last Placed
9) Clouds should come in next to each other in their proper positions and at the same scale as the first one.
'''''''''

Ruskila
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 8:49 pm
Full Name: Russell Garlick
Company Details: Aedas
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: United Kingdom
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Shared coordinate and scale in Revit

Post by Ruskila »

Peyman,

I've had this problem before, your right it is a scaling issue revit has when creating the pcg (Imperial to metric).

Revit has released a hotfix for this which imports the clouds to the correct scale that you should be able to find or get hold of from Autodesk.

Regarding the coordinate issue you have you should insert the first cloud by origin - origin if it has been registered to correct coordinates then import all other clouds origin to last placed.

Hope this helps,

Regards,

Russell

User avatar
sealund
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 12:47 pm
Full Name: Erik Lundgren
Company Details: Bjerking AB
Company Position Title: Surveyor - Laserscan technician
Country: Sweden
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Uppsala
Contact:

Re: Shared coordinate and scale in Revit

Post by sealund »

Which versions of Revit are we talking about here? Do i need the hotfix for Revit 2013 aswell or is it alredy built in the latest version?

//Erik
Erik Lundgren, Bjerking AB
"Position with precision..."

http://www.youtube.com/user/BjerkingWeb

User avatar
Peyman Bashiri
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 482
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 6:32 pm
Full Name: Peyman Bashiri
Company Details: Aero Geometrics Canadian Z+F reseller
Company Position Title: Laser scanning amd BIM Specialist
Country: Canada
Skype Name: pbashiri2003
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Vancouver,BC
Been thanked: 10 times
Contact:

Re: Shared coordinate and scale in Revit

Post by Peyman Bashiri »

Dear Russel,
Which Hotfix will fix the scale issue in revit2012 meteric version?
you know when pcg files inserted in to revit ,the method you mentioned put all points perfectly in its place,but the issue is when you want to see the model you create with all other site reexported to auto cad,now every thing will be misplaced and unscaled .
peyman

User avatar
sealund
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 12:47 pm
Full Name: Erik Lundgren
Company Details: Bjerking AB
Company Position Title: Surveyor - Laserscan technician
Country: Sweden
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Location: Uppsala
Contact:

Re: Shared coordinate and scale in Revit

Post by sealund »

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps ... ID=9273944

Hotfix - Autodesk Revit 2012 - Point Clouds
This hotfix addresses issues with meters to feet conversions indexing FARO point clouds and improves product stability when manipulating large or complex point clouds.


I think it´s this one?

//Erik
Erik Lundgren, Bjerking AB
"Position with precision..."

http://www.youtube.com/user/BjerkingWeb

Ruskila
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 8:49 pm
Full Name: Russell Garlick
Company Details: Aedas
Company Position Title: Surveyor
Country: United Kingdom
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Shared coordinate and scale in Revit

Post by Ruskila »

Yes, thats the hotfix Eric posted.

Not sure about the misplaced when reexported to AutoCAD though, never tried it - Sorry

Post Reply

Return to “Building Information Modeling [BIM]”