A noob question about ortho images from pointclouds

Discuss all Construction & Architecture related issues here.
VXGrid
I have made 60-70 posts
I have made 60-70 posts
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 10:47 am
Full Name: Martin Graner
Company Details: PointCab GmbH
Company Position Title: Research and Development
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: A noob question about ortho images from pointclouds

Post by VXGrid » Sun Jun 02, 2019 3:16 pm

mjfpfg wrote:
Fri May 31, 2019 7:02 pm
Hi.
I´m starting in the scan world and have one (of many) question related with the subject.
I have a friend that requested me if I could scan a facade of a building for him.
I did the scan (have a BLK360) and the rest of the process (registering, cleaning) in Register360.
My friend needs (cause he does not work with pointclouds) an image of that facade to import to Autocad and then draw on it.
How can i do it?
Tryed in Cloudworx with the command "Ortho image" but the resolution is not great at all.

Thanks.
You can export the point cloud in E57 format and use PointCab to generate your image.
It's really simple:
The description how to generate a section is in the last bullet point at the bottom of the page.

mjfpfg
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 2:04 am
Full Name: Miguel Guimarães
Company Details: Miguel J Guimaraes - Serv Top
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: Portugal
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: A noob question about ortho images from pointclouds

Post by mjfpfg » Sun Jun 02, 2019 11:17 pm

VxGrid, thank you for the tip.
Saw the link and really apreciated the simple method to do it.
:like: :like:

User avatar
gsisman
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
Posts: 226
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:51 pm
Full Name: Steve Long
Company Details: Montgomery County DOT _ MD
Company Position Title: Land Survey Supervisor
Country: United States
Skype Name: gsisman1
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: A noob question about ortho images from pointclouds

Post by gsisman » Mon Jun 03, 2019 1:38 am

mjfpfg wrote:
Fri May 31, 2019 7:02 pm
Hi.
I´m starting in the scan world and have one (of many) question related with the subject.
I have a friend that requested me if I could scan a facade of a building for him.
I did the scan (have a BLK360) and the rest of the process (registering, cleaning) in Register360.
My friend needs (cause he does not work with pointclouds) an image of that facade to import to Autocad and then draw on it.
How can i do it?
Tryed in Cloudworx with the command "Ortho image" but the resolution is not great at all.

Thanks.
With the New Reg 360 v1.6 You can export to RCP pointcloud directly which he can read that directly with ACAD which will give him a precise facade that he can snap to features on

User avatar
mariusP
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 8:39 am
Full Name: Marius Putrimas
Company Details: Terra Modus
Company Position Title: Undet project manager
Country: Lithuania
Linkedin Profile: Yes
Contact:

Re: A noob question about ortho images from pointclouds

Post by mariusP » Mon Jun 03, 2019 10:06 am

Peder wrote:
Fri Mar 08, 2019 4:31 pm
Hi!
I am using:
Register 360
Recap
Revit
Global Mapper
Meshroom (trying it out anyway)
Cloudcompare (trying it out anyway)
Hi,

You can create ortophoto raster image views from point clouds directly in Revit, using "Undet for Revit" plug in.

Created orthophoto images can be used for Revit modeling or exported using standard Revit Tools.

More info:

https://www.undet.com/for-revit/

https://youtu.be/JMijrpQBAK8


P.S. If you want to create mesh models from scan data and put texture on it, you should try RealityCapture software.
Marius Putrimas
www.undet.com
Undet Point Cloud Software

mjfpfg
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 2:04 am
Full Name: Miguel Guimarães
Company Details: Miguel J Guimaraes - Serv Top
Company Position Title: Owner
Country: Portugal
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: A noob question about ortho images from pointclouds

Post by mjfpfg » Thu Jun 06, 2019 12:14 am

gsisman wrote:
Mon Jun 03, 2019 1:38 am
mjfpfg wrote:
Fri May 31, 2019 7:02 pm
Hi.
I´m starting in the scan world and have one (of many) question related with the subject.
I have a friend that requested me if I could scan a facade of a building for him.
I did the scan (have a BLK360) and the rest of the process (registering, cleaning) in Register360.
My friend needs (cause he does not work with pointclouds) an image of that facade to import to Autocad and then draw on it.
How can i do it?
Tryed in Cloudworx with the command "Ortho image" but the resolution is not great at all.

Thanks.
With the New Reg 360 v1.6 You can export to RCP pointcloud directly which he can read that directly with ACAD which will give him a precise facade that he can snap to features on
It was the way we tried and worked. I gave him the RCP and after he opened in ACAD. Some problems viewing and rotating the cloud for the facade but after some struggle he did it.

But still I wanted to see how good can the resolution of an ortho image from Register could be.
I´ve bee trying but not really happy with the results...

But thanks for the help :)

Post Reply

Return to “Construction & Architecture”