Lost my way with Pointools render settings

Discuss all Bentley Pointools related issues here.

Lost my way with Pointools render settings

Postby richthegoose » Fri Jul 15, 2011 7:26 am

Can anyone help me with Pointools animation and render settings that will quickly render a good quality animation into a reasonable file size.

Ultimately I would like a 720x1280 25fps avi file.
I have tried various settings for example:
Motion Blur quality: standard; No anti-anti-aliasing; Codec: full frames

A 45 second fly-through is taking over 2 hours to render on a high spec machine and churning out a 3GB file – there is no way a 45 second avi file should be 3GB!
Shorter files (10 seconds) come out at about 1GB, at this size they are small enough for me to convert using Adobe Media converter, with no compression and no apparent loss of quality these go from 1GB to 37MB just by re-saving as a new avi file, though 37MB is still ridiculous for a 10 second clip.

I can’t seem to see where I am going wrong, any help will be much appreciated.

Rich
richthegoose
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 11:22 am
Full Name: Richard Clark
Company Details: Metropolitan Police Service
Company Position Title: Collision Investigator
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Lost my way with Pointools render settings

Postby Greg » Fri Jul 15, 2011 8:29 am

Hi Rich

The 'Full Frames' Codec is uncompressed. Try switching to any other codec for much smaller file sizes!

Here is some usefull advide on codecs in Pointools from the Pointools Forum:

http://www.pointools.com/forum/viewtopi ... codec#p836

Changing the anti-aliasing and motion blur will have little effect on the output size but will effect the render times.

I hope this helps you?
User avatar
Greg
I have made 40-50 posts
I have made 40-50 posts
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 3:20 pm
Full Name: Greg Painter
Company Details: apr services
Company Position Title: 3D CAD Manager
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Lost my way with Pointools render settings

Postby DanCutler » Mon Jul 18, 2011 3:45 pm

great advice thanks Greg,

you can also find an interesting thread about codecs and rendering large resolution movies from David at ATS (a Swedish Pointools sales partner) on the Pointools forum.

I recommend having a read - http://www.pointools.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=305&p=836&hilit=codec#p836

8-)
User avatar
DanCutler
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 1:21 pm
Location: London, UK
Full Name: Dan Cutler
Company Details: Bentley Systems
Company Position Title: Application Engineer
Country: UK
Skype Name: dan_pointools
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Lost my way with Pointools render settings

Postby RussellHall » Tue Jul 19, 2011 8:52 am

by exporting the images and recompositing them using vdub or similar we are managing .wmv / 1200x1024 at 30mb per min.
User avatar
RussellHall
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 11:39 am
Full Name: Russell Hall
Company Details: MLS
Company Position Title: 3D Spatial data monkey

Re: Lost my way with Pointools render settings

Postby richthegoose » Thu Jul 21, 2011 5:23 pm

OK, I seem to have got there at last.

I’m using a 64bit system and the method described by joohansson didn’t seem to work. The K-lite Codec package was all 32 bit codecs and none of then showed up in Pointools, there was a K-lite 64 bit package but that didn’t include a 64 bit version of the x264 codec.

In the end I downloaded the Xvid codec mentioned here: viewtopic.php?f=76&t=3439#p14151 . I tried rendering to jpegs then using Adobe Premier Pro CS5 but the file sizes went silly again. In the end I just rendered straight to avi with the Xvid codec in pointools. This produced beautiful HD videos at very manageable file sizes. I am very happy with the results.

On an aside I really like the free avi converter mentioned on the thread, it seem to work much better than Adobe Media Encoder which I had been using up to now.
Cheers
richthegoose
I have made 10-20 posts
I have made 10-20 posts
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 11:22 am
Full Name: Richard Clark
Company Details: Metropolitan Police Service
Company Position Title: Collision Investigator
Country: UK
Linkedin Profile: No

Re: Lost my way with Pointools render settings

Postby christopherbyrne18 » Fri Jul 22, 2011 1:44 am

Its the way to go I reckon,

Whats the point exporting out of Pointools as images to process in another package? Its just adding another unessary step when the 64bit xvid codec does a great job.

Chris
christopherbyrne18
V.I.P Member
V.I.P Member
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 8:18 pm
Full Name: Christopher Byrne
Company Details: Intertek
Company Position Title: 3D As-Built Coordinator
Country: Australia
Linkedin Profile: Yes

Re: Lost my way with Pointools render settings

Postby ArminB » Sat Aug 06, 2011 11:38 am

Hi Steffen

Here is a guide for fast rendering in Pointools:

first: go into the render settings for the codec to check if xvid is available. If yes, go on with Step 3.

second: Install the K-lite code package http://k-lite-codec-pack.softonic.de/

third: To reduce set the desired resolution in the animation settings, turn motion blur from the rendering time.

fourth: Now choose xvid from "drop down" menu in the render setting, press Configure and set the slide switch to second, then close

5th Given name and press button to start rendering.

Kind Regards,

Armin
ArminB
I have made 20-30 posts
I have made 20-30 posts
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 8:35 am
Full Name: Armin Bethke
Company Details: Laserscanning Europe
Company Position Title: Social Marketing
Country: Germany
Linkedin Profile: No


Return to Bentley Pointools

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

 
Stay in touch    RSS feed    Twitter    Youtube    Flickr    Facebook    Linkedin


FORUM SPONSORS

Home | About Us | Accessibility | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Contacts
DouZa Webdesign