Best value scanner for personal use?

Apple iPhone & iPad, Artec3D, ASUS Xtrion, Creaform, DotProduct DPI-8S &DPI-10, FARO Freestyle, G0-Scan, Mantis Vision, Microsoft Kinect, Noomeo, THOR3D, ZEB1, viDoc RTK Rover etc.
doublec4
I have made <0 posts
I have made <0 posts
Full Name: Chris
Company Details: Embrace Racing
Company Position Title: Owner
Linkedin Profile: No

Best value scanner for personal use?

Post by doublec4 »

Hello everyone,

This thread will serve as my introduction to the forum, as well as a place where I hope to get some advice from you experienced guys.

I'm new to the 3D scanning world but I have experience with 3D printing, different CAD packages, CAM software, and so on. I'm an engineer by trade and love to design and build even after my 9-5 job is done.

Somewhat recently I had the pleasure of using a Faro hand held scanner as part of a demonstration at my workplace and although it was much too expensive to purchase for my personal use, I was hoping there would be something out there that was more affordable to purchase for myself.

Basically I'm looking for the most versatile scanner for my money. I would likely be scanning objects both large (vehicle bumpers / fenders) and small. I would possibly be scanning in a variety of lighting conditions due to the nature of my subject (mostly automotive). I do not require micron accuracy (probably just closer to the mm range).

What would your suggestions be? Are there currently any options that would suit my requirements? Any guidance would be really appreciated! Thank you!

Just for fun, this is the suspension spindle from my vehicle I was able to recreate in CAD using the Faro scan:

Matt Young
Honorary Member
Honorary Member
Full Name: Matt Young
Company Details: Baker Hicks
Company Position Title: CAD-BIM Lead

Re: Best value scanner for personal use?

Post by Matt Young »

Welcome to the Forum Chris :D

I'm sure you will find a wealth of information here.